A Tale Of Two Perfect Strangers (I)...

2 34
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Wednesday, 6 October

Photo Credit- pixabay.com

PLOT: Rising News Reporter Abigail Jameson wants a divorce from her cheating, abusive husband, Gregory so she can be free from the sham of a marriage. On a ferry, wealthy, smooth-talking daughter of the heiress of LaMontagne, Georgia Doss recognises Abigail and reveals his disturbingly diabolical scheme; Two perfect strangers on a ferry... whatever could go wrong.

Now the story unfolds...

Two young women on board the ferry, standing closely together, side by side admiring the view of the river as they await their destination. Georgia Doss, daughter to Peggy Doss, heiress of LaMontagne, about 25 years, wears her sophisticated apparel with the tweedy nonchalance of a young woman who has always had the best. On the other hand, a drop-dead gorgeous but, at the moment, somewhat troubled young woman. This is Abigail Jameson. She too, is in her mid twenties and is dressed elegantly because she can now afford to be. They both acknowledge each other and Georgia strikes up a conversation.

Photo Credit- pixabay.com

Georgia- I beg your pardon, but aren't you Abigail Jameson?

Abigail acknowledges with a nod and a polite half smile. Being a well-known News Reporter, she has had this sort of experience before.

Georgia- Yeah, I knew it was you. You looked quite familiar. You must get this a lot I suppose, sorry... I'm Georgia.

Abigail- How do you do.

Georgia- (with an apologetic grin) I don't usually talk so much. Sorry to intrude.

Abigail- (wryly) Thanks.

Abigail tries to focus on the view ahead but is uneasily aware of Georgia's open stare

Georgia- It must be pretty exciting to be so important.

Abigail- (fidgeting slightly) A News Reporter isn't so important.

Georgia- People who do things are important. I never seem to do anything.

Not knowing how to answer this, Abigail looks a little embarrassed.

Still insistent on being friendly, Georgia takes out a cigarette case. Holds it out to Abigail.

Georgia- Cigarette?

Abigail- Not now, Thanks. I don't smoke much.

Georgia- I smoke too much.

Photo Credit- pixabay.com

Georgia fumbles for a match. Abigail brings out a lighter and hands it to Georgia.

Georgia- Thanks. (She stares at the lighter, impressed). Elegant.

Showing that it has an engraved inscription on it, "To A from G." underneath the lighter.

Georgia- To A from G. Bet I can guess who G is.

Abigail reacts sharply...

Abigail- (Coldly) Yes?

Georgia- Gregory Jameson. Sometimes, I read up on the tabloids. I know you're married to the esteemed Gregory Jameson. You guys are charming in the pictures.

Abigail- You're quite the reader, Miss Doss

Georgia- Yes I am. Ask me anything and I got the answer. Even news about people I don't know. People who would like to be free of an unhappy marriage to a man who gallivants, cheats and has violent tendencies.

Abigail- (Sharply) Perhaps you read too much.

Georgia- (Contritely) There I go again. Too friendly. I meet someone I like and open my yap too wide. I'm sorry.

At the appeal on Georgia's face, Abigail slowly relents.

Abigail- That's all right. Forget it. I guess I'm pretty jumpy.

Georgia- Why don't we go inside and sit for a bit. I'm feeling a bit peckish and you might be too.

Photo Credit- pixabay.com

The waiter has brought the drinks. Georgia slips the lighter into her purse to free her hands for the bill which she gives the waiter, waving away the change. She offers a glass to Abigail. Abigail takes it.

Georgia- This is wonderful-- having your company. Where are you headed by the way?

Abigail- Well, I'm headed back home.

Georgia- Oh, I get it. A little talk with the hubby about divorce, eh? I suppose he was the guy next door. Held your hands in high school and before you knew it... married! Am I right?

Abigail- (laconically) Close enough.

Georgia- Well, here's to luck, Abigail. Drink up!

To Be Continued...

>>Good day everyone again, I'm always glad to have the opportunity to share my writeup here once again. This is one of many amazing writeups I'm going to be sharing and I'm just elated. I'm Grateful literally and figuratively.

Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty

Looking forward to your comments. Please endeavour to subscribe and upvote. Also, I want to take this time to appreciate my sponsors for the sponsorship. Thank you all so much and I trust you have a great day. I love you all.

The.Ada signing out!

3
$ 0.41
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.02 from @Jumper-01
Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Comments

I’m hooked already 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seems we are in for another interesting ride. Looking forward to the next Episode

$ 0.02
2 years ago