You are by my side

0 21
Avatar for Thaisy
Written by
3 years ago

"What?" her eyes widened. "

Are you in the varsity team of our University?"

"You got it right!"

"Yes! Yes! Yes!" he kept saying, still holding the hose when he hugged it.

She lifted it off the ground and rolled it around.

"Hey, you kids, What happened?" Aunt Lupe asked.

"Why, Billy, did you win the lottery, huh?" "Auntie," Billy said below as she was.

"Billy is already in the varsity basketball team of our University," she replied excitedly.

"Fishball?" Aunt Lupe asked. Its hearing is weak.

"Aunt Lupe, basketball," Billy corrected with a smile.

"Do you remember that I really wanted to join the basketball team at our school?

"What now?" she still asked.

"I'm already in. I'm going to play basketball at our school," Billy happily announced here.

"Really? " its smiling language.

"Well, it's good. When you were young you didn't know anything to play but basketball. Even my niece learned it because of your ability."

They laughed together.

"Oh, turn off the faucet first, son," Aunt Lupe aroused her attention as she noticed that water continued to flow from the hose that landed on the ground covered with Bermuda grass.

"Follow inside to have a snack. We will celebrate Billy's entry into varsity. Is that right, son?"

"That's right, Auntie ," Billy said.

It also turned off the tap.

"Congratulations, Billy," she said with a smile.

"I told you, you will pass and you will be accepted.

"That's why you were the first one I told you, right?I want to share this success with you. In the first place, you are the only one who really believes in my ability."

"So, will you tell your dad?" she asked.

"Maybe not now," the expression suddenly saddened when he said.

"I'll just tell Mommy first."

"Yes,can we stop the drama first. This is a happy occasion. We should be happy. Our neighbors as well as the whole Philippines who are here in this subdivision do not know the future PBA superstar," she said with a smile.

He seemed to think that it was caressing its own chin.

"I hope so, Son. This is just the first step. I have many more stairs to climb before I reach the PBA. But I'll get there somebody," it was full of hopeful language.

"I know you will," she said for a second. She fully believes in its ability and determination.

"I know you will. And when you get there, I hope I'm still with you."

"Of course," its quick reply.

"I will not be able to reach my dream without you. Remember that. There is nothing left, remember?"

"There is nothing left," he said excitedly as he hugged her and guided her inside the house.

THAT'S how Akiko and Billy are. The problem of one, the problem of the two of them. The success of one is the success of the two of them. With joy and sorrow, nothing is left.

They grew up almost simultaneously. Akiko was in grade five when his mother left him. His father died in a car accident when he was only five years old.

Her mother is a nurse. When she was admitted to a hospital in California, she left him in the care of Aunt Lupe and her husband Uncle Delfin. Two years later, her mother came home to say she was going to marry an American businessman. It promised to take her.

But she was about to graduate from high school that did not happen. She always said that his paperwork has not been fixed and still needs a little time. She only found out the truth when she accidentally heard the of Aunt Lupe and her mother talking.

Summer noon and she just finished graduation. She waited for Billy's call because they had a conversation that he would call her. When she heard the phone ring she hurriedly raised the auditory.

Aunt Lupe answered that first using the kitchen extension. She heard her mother on the other line. She would have dropped it if Aunt Lupe had to ask when it would take her.

She knew that Aunt Lupe would ask that question not because she did not want to be with her anymore, but because she was only concerned about her. She often asks if her mother mentioned anything about the reason why it took her so long to get it.

"Almira, your daughter is being questioned," she heard Aunt Lupe ask. "She's also wondering why you still haven't taken her for three years. You don't even ask us for the paperwork she will need. I am tired of inventing reason. Why can't your new husband accept that you already have a child? Why doesn't he want you to be with Akiko? Is it just because of your husband's that you will let your child stay with me forever? "

Her tears rolled down his cheeks. Her throat hurt from holding back the crying.

"Sister Lupe, I'm sorry. I hope you understand. You will take care of Akiko first. I will not fail to send money for her.

"You know I can - I can bring your child back to life. But all she needs is you. Let George understand, "said Aunt Lupe to the American who was married to her mother.

" Akiko is your daughter and you have a responsibility to her. She was your daughter before you married. If you can't get your child, have the courage to tell him that. You can count on her, Almira. Your daughter is already in pain, "

That is why she could not immediately follow to the America. Her new husband does not like her and her mother can not yell. Why is she submissive to her husband ? "

"Stand up for your daughter, Almira. If not, tell her the truth?" said Aunt Lupe.

"Sister Lupe, please. Give it to me first. I have to stay with George. He was kind to me but he clarified that he did not want me to take Akiko. This is just now. Will I be able to accept my husband as well."

She loves to let her know that he hears everything.

She never stopped listening to their conversation.

She sobbed silently as she hung up the phone.

From then when her mother called and wanted to talk to her, she told her aunt that he was doing something or that she was in the bathroom. When she happens to be able to answer the call, she will immediately call her aunt to pass the phone to her.

She never asked Aunt Lupe about it again. She made that known by avoiding it when it was the subject of question.

TO BILLY Akiko says all her resentment towards her mother. He was her best friend.

There is only a fence between their houses. She was the same age and both of them were in the same school so they became closer to each other.

To be continue.......

4
$ 0.68
$ 0.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Thaisy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Thaisy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments