Command The Heart (Chapter 1)

0 23
Avatar for Thaisy
Written by
3 years ago

FROM head to toe to the end of her hair, the old woman looked at her with a smirk.

"What is your name?"

"Amela po!"

"Amela ...?"

"Montemayor . Amela Montemayor."

"Amela Montemayor," she repeated and nodded.
And smiled then.

"Your name sounds like the name of a rich family," she said, still staring at her.

"Where are you from again?" The old woman again after a moment of staring at her face.

"Bulacan!"

"Where in Bulacan?"

"Angat Bulacan!"

"Where is that?" The old man frowned.

"Near Norzagaray."

The frown of the old woman was not removed. "Norzagaray?"

"The town will arrive after passing Partida. Barangay Partida. Barrio of Sta. Maria, Bulacan.

"I know nothing of the places you say!"

"Baliwag po? Did you hear?"

The old woman nodded. "Bert Marcelo's town?"

Amela nodded. "That's it."

"O ....?" The question is looking for a connection.

"Angat is near there. Ours is just beyond that!"

"Ahh ..." Amela smiled beautifully. Finally, the old man understood something she was saying.

"But her breathing was relieved for a moment. Then the critical eye in front of her returned. She leaned back in her chair. And her eyes seemed to improve on examining her.

"Turn around ... What's next?"

"Amela."

"Turn around again, Amela," it commanded.

Amela turned around. Proudly. Is it like when the director of the film was filmed in Angat.

"That animal director!" entered Amela's mind. She stopped registering annoyance on her face. That might reduce her chances of being liked by the old woman.

She did not failed. She could clearly see the presenter smiling after observing her figure.

"Can I have it now?"

"Yes you can for four hundred slot?"

"Four hundred?" Amelia repeated in her brain. She wants to be insulted. By the way, the old woman in front of her looked at her for only four hundred. But this old woman is lucky. Amela is not in a position to wait now. Please be patient, she said to herself. "Four hundred is better than nothing!"

She forced a smile and then asked. "Maybe food and sleep are free for four hundred, right?"

Again the girl was silent.She stared as the old woman shook her head.

"The food is free, but there is no housing, Amela," the person explained.

That housing is still important! "Regret.

"If you're not pretty, I can still put you here in my house. But I don't want a big headache anymore."

Amela's eyes asked.

"My husband loves it, Amela. Definitely will work for you then when I put you to sleep here. I hope that in the crawl."

"I'm not going to shoot just like your husband!" Amela said suddenly.

The woman just laughed. "I know. Even if I'm like you, of course if I ruin myself, I'll be able to make a big deal. But you don't know my husband, hija. That's a rapist!"

Amela smiled. "That's my stepfather, a former boxer, he can't do me," Amela joked. "I have a pet for twenty-nine!"

"I love my husband , hija. Even so, I still don't want to be widowed!"

"Is that so?" "If I just didn't want to make money, I wouldn't get a shopkeeper as good as you. But my cafeteria did not have a customer for Patring so I put a poster outside our gate."

"I also want a job, Ma'am. But maybe I won't have anything left if I still rent a house."

"That's not a problem, hija. Just don't get selected!"

"Even on the cement, on the floor of your cafeteria, I can do it, Ma'am!"

The woman's eyes widened. "Taht is favor of my husband! That's where he sleeps in the store every night, Amela," she said while pointing to the cafeteria on the side of the yard wall.

"Is that so?" Amela is sad.

"But don't worry. You're not that picky ... come on!"She stood up. And headed down the terrace.

"We will talk to Patring," she added.

"Who's Patring?" Amela followed the woman on the walk.

"The man here in my cafeteria," she replied.

"Patring is completely orphaned. He inherited a lot and a plot of land. He just doesn't have any money. I will ask you to live there. After all, he is not with anyone!"

"Did that agree?" "Patring is kind. It's ugly!" And a few steps later the old woman shouted at the one inside the small diner on the side of the road.

"Why, Nana Betia?"

And they were greeted by a skinny woman at the back door of the cafeteria.

"I've got something to help you with the sale," said the old woman. "Amela," it introduced Amela to the thin woman.

"Amela, this is Patring. That's what I'm telling you."

The two smiled. "Are you going to start?" Patring sighed.

"There's still a problem, Patring!" Patring looked at the speaker.

"She has no place to stay," Nana Betia said.

"In my house, if you can. I really need a companion there, Patring offers Amela a smile.

"Thank you!" Amela said excitedly. And turned to Nana Betia, "can I start now!"

At first, Amela was awkward moving in the cafeteria. She did not know how much an order dish. Especially since she does not know where to put the things that customers ask or can convey. She is used to cooking. But not of alot of arroz caldo.

She was cooking even when she was only six years old. But not alot same like this.

"Is Nana Betia still weak in sales of this store?" Sometimes I asked Patring while washing dishes.

"Yes."

"We fed so many people this lunch!"  Amela said.

"That old man doesn't know how to be satisfied. She seems to have other plans. So find a good saleswoman." Amela's eyes widened when she asked again.

"Why? What is that?

"They say they will drink here! . They will sell beer and gin!" Patring's sniffing answer tilted.

"You see, she will post another replacement for the wanted saleswoman!"

"What is the poster that Ka Manding hung on the gate earlier?"

"What else? They will buy a dog and a goat!" Patring replied.

"So we have more work to do."

"We will cook another dish?" "Then work with the drunks!"

Patring is kind. It was easy for Amela to feel comfortable. The woman is also patient. It never tires of teaching the new companion. However, Amela was wrong. The girl is not modest. It is talkative. Contrary to what she thought it was shy and speechless. Ever since she lost her grocer, she has not stopped Amela from asking questions.

To be continue for Chapter 1.....

Enjoy Reading!!!

3
$ 0.89
$ 0.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Thaisy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Thaisy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments