How big is your Fish?

16 41
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago
Topics: Random

Today is Friday, and in the UK traditionally Friday has been known as Fish Friday. This got me thinking as I am suffering from cabin fever about fish. One fish that stuck out in my mind in particular was when I remembered visiting the big Fish in Belfast, Northern Ireland.

Belfast is in Northern Ireland and is the fourth nation that makes up the United Kingdom. This is my photograph of that fish and there is a grand total of thirty-two feet of it. This 32 foot (10m) Salmon is also known as The Salmon of Knowledge. It was commissioned in 1999 to celebrate the regeneration of the River Lagan in Belfast, Northern Ireland. The sculptor was a man named John Kindness, which I thought it was an appropriate name as it was a deserved act of kindness to get the river back to being able to have salmon using and living it again. The fish has gorgeous beautiful blue scales, which are in fact ceramic tiles and they each describe different scenes from the history of Belfast.

So not only is it an awesome sculpture and become a Belfast landmark, it helps us keep track of what has happened in the history of the capital of Northern Ireland.

So after all this fish reminiscing what did I do?

Not hard to imagine, but yes for all you smarty-pants that guessed it (who am I kidding, there won't be that many people reading this) I had a fish supper.

Now it was not a 32 foot salmon, but in fact two seven inch pieces of haddock. I love haddock, it is a white fish and just tastes superb, and it is ideal for deep frying in batter.

A fish supper I hear you say, what does that mean?

Well if you have a piece of fish, it is called a single fish. If you add chips to it, then it becomes a fish supper.

Here fish and chips means just that, fish and chips with salt, vinegar and the best of all, plenty of brown sauce. I know many of you non British people call chips as fries. But for us fries are skinny wee things. Chips should be fat chunks.

So there was me, thinking about what to post on social media for my picture of the day and I choose a fish. Not for a minute did I think I would end up having for dinner what I had thought about to post as a picture.

Now then readers, do you have any fish statues near you. Are there any fish tales in your homeland?

The moral of the story?

Well, bottom line is that you never really know where you will end up, once you have started. Life is a journey and it is fun enjoying the ride, let it take you somewhere and just enjoy the result.

Copyright @TengoLoTodo 2021 and yes All Rights Reserved.

Haste ye back.

5
$ 0.99
$ 0.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @fantagira
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago
Topics: Random

Comments

Fish and chips I learned that and so different from where I am used too. Chips are fries and crisps are chips. Hope I can see that huge fish. Someday I might. Enjoying life without hesitation. Loving it and loving the people or someone that is in it in my life. Live fully without regret

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes you never know what the future holds. Live life fully and no regrets I totally agree with. Yes no crisps please, just big fat chips!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its really an eye-Catching (see what I did there) fish statue :o always pique my interest in the stories behind these big animal statues we stumbled on our travels.

in my case, I'm still on a journey to find the best-tasting fish n chips in my country! because so far I only tasted the greasy and fishy ones, it only takes few bite to not enjoy my fish n chips

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I do indeed, very clever and it caught my eye. Greasy fish and chips oh dear, that ruins it, what country are you from?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

from asia :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

W -here's T-the F-fish, uncle Ed? :D I loooooove that Fish Statue though! I think we have one around here (ya know it's water all around the place hehe), but it's not as huge as that. And yeah, The fish and chips! Yum!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha it is a cool statue , and yes you and your water water everywhere, like I haven't seen it before haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can’t beat good fish and chips! And no, no fish statues around me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes good old fish and chips, and of course being on the sea, here they are as fresh as fresh can be !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes, I forgot about that. Lucky you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aren't you close to water now though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not close enough!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

typical woman, never satisfied

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is no beach in Southampton. The closest beaches in both directions are stoney and going to Bournemouth you’re stuck in traffic for hours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well blow me, I thought Southampton was on the water

$ 0.00
2 years ago