The Pressure

4 21
Avatar for Tamia
Written by
2 years ago

There was never a day that I didn’t think about my future, what would my life be like in the years to come and if I could fulfill all my dreams in the coming years. Everything I see, I read and watch from different people on social media about their successes in life at a very young age makes me question myself "Why am I just like this". I can't help myself but to feel jealous about their achievements.

Like at the age of this, they already have their own house or car, own apartment, they can travel wherever they wanted to go, they can buy all the things they want or need, they have already a degree, they have nice job, some are starting their own family while some are enjoying their youths by exploring a lot of things in this world.

I feel like I am too weak, I feel like I've been left behind by other people at my age. I feel so pressured about anything I saw on social media. People at the age of 20 has already hundreds of thousand in their bank account, people at the age of 19 already found their partners, people at the age of 18 have their own businesses and more. I frequently saw a lot of my batchmates posting on facebook about how happy they are after been accepted from the company they were applying for, my friends who often show their new computer/laptop they bought for themselves, my batchmates who are so happy this year because it's their last year of being a college student and they are about to wear that black toga that I've been dreaming of ever since but sadly as of now seems like black toga isn't yet for me.

I'm so happy to all my friends who are now already a 4th year college student, onr more year and they're done! Yes, I'm happy for them but not for myself.

I feel pressured. I feel pressured for my self, and for my life in the future. I can't help but say in my mind "I wish I was too", "I wish I could achieve what they have right now too", "I wish I could go back to college", "I wish I have the things I want too" and "I wish I could be as successful as them too".

But after all, I realized...

I am not them.

We have a different names, we live in a different places, we have different personalities and beliefs, we're living in a different bodies, in short we have our own different life, we have different paths and perfect times so why do I have to compare my self from them? Also, I realized that it's not because they've achieved these things right now doesn't mean that I should do it for my self too or felt sad and pressured about it. When it comes to education, though it is normal to feel sad for my situation right now, but I just realized as well that feeling down for myself won't help me at all, especially in these times where I need to get out of my comfort zone, I need to show the strong part of me as I face these kinds of struggles and hard times of my life, I need to let go of these feelings and doubts for my self because in these times, I only have is my self, I should be the number one fan of me, I should be the one who won't say negatives about me and instead...

I should feel proud of my little achievements too.

Even if others may not see it as my achievement, I would still and forever be grateful for it.

Because life isn't about how wealthy or how successful we are, it is not a race nor a competition between us and other people in our age. What we should do instead of comparing ourselves from other's life is to make their achievements as our inspiration for our goals.

Maybe it's not my time yet, but the thing that I'm hundred percent sure for my self is, I will give my very best so that I can have my own house, car and get that degree soon.

Thankyou for Reading!

Image used:

Lead Image-

https://www.google.com/search?q=pressured&client=ms-android-oppo&prmd=invx&sxsrf=AOaemvIePmycVN-XVBxqdE1OwQKuJnVJEQ:1630824929689&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwievf-koOfyAhVeyIsBHQaOCsEQ_AUoAXoECAMQAQ&biw=360&bih=566&dpr=2#imgrc=ZjYBum3v9Rj-eM

Have a great sunday wonderful people ♡.

2
$ 1.83
$ 1.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ling01
$ 0.02 from @foryoubtc09
Sponsors of Tamia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tamia
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Social media is a place where people reflect their positive side. You shouldn't be so affected by it. You have a great life ahead of you, you can set certain goals for yourself and achieve them in order. Do not despair, be more ambitious and succeed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yas 😊 I really appreciate your advice and encouragement, thank you so much! ♡♡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's pray for this Sis. Soon at the right time we are able to reach our goal, and let our success shout for us. I've been there, to feel jealous that some are already successful same age or even younger than me. But I realize that GOD is still working on my life, I know it's worth to wait.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's also what I'm saying to myself po everytime I feel like I'm starting to feel jealous again over someone's life. You're right po, always trust the process and the right time for us will come.

$ 0.00
2 years ago