Weekend Unwinding

3 21
Avatar for Talon
Written by
2 years ago

Hey friends, how're you doing? How's your weekend? Weekend shaping out to be good thus far? For me, it's been pretty undulating. Since the beginning of my IT in Lagos, I've been pretty disappointed with what I've come to know about the place, maybe my expectations were too high or unrealistic, I don't know, but what I do know is that I don't see the lure and glory most Lagos residents claim they enjoy in the state when they are away from home.

So far, this week has been really stressful. My group has had to spend at least 5-8hours in the lab every single day. While Friday came as a day of rest for the other group, my group was been worked to death as we were carrying out experiments on fish gonadal development. It was a lovely experience though.

After such a long week's work, I planned on getting a little relaxation yesterday being Saturday, but even that didn't want to go according to plan. I did eventually get to go for a shorter time than I planned but it was worth the release. While there, I learnt quite a few things or more like principles.

Nothing Last Forever

Sitting and walking on the shore along the beach, I saw and got soak by the effect of the onrushing wave. The wave was pretty unpredictable. Some were calmer than others, while others were absolutely crazy, almost covering the whole beach. It was clearly a time of high tide, but that's not the lesson. No matter how heavy the wave, the water always came and promptly receded. I looked at life through the actions of the waters, and I couldn't help thinking that's how life is. No matter the good or bad experience you're having, it will always pass as nothing is ever permanent. Like the waves, no matter the situation you're facing, you will eventually be alright cos it will eventually pass. Just like those waves, sometimes life can get really crazy and unpredictable, but it's necessary we always remember that 'everything that goes up must surely come down, eventually'. This should always give us peace as we seek that which we seek.

Always Seek Local Knowledge

When I was there, I was reasonably perplexed to see little kids bathing in the ocean, surfing those surging waves. I couldn't even find the courage to enter into the water to my knee length, but with a few tips from the local, I was able to safely have fun in the waters without fear of endangering myself. I'm very certain if not for their local knowledge, I either would not have had as much fun or I might have gotten myself hurt.

Stand On A Firm Foundation

Contrary to what I see in the movies, the floor of the beach was relatively solid, when the waves have receded. For a first timer like me, you can easily be deceived to think you're on solid grounds, that's until the waves come crashing and wash away all the sound from right underneath your feet😂. I couldn't help but think how that's also a reflection our our lives sometimes. We build our goals and dreams sometimes on certain grounds, but sometimes they turn out to be nothing but quick sound and just like the sand of the beach, they get washed away at the slightest wave of life and all we've build comes crashing down like a pack of card. This is why it's important that when we set out to achieve anything, make sure you start on a good footing and a very strong foundation if you want to enjoy prolonged success and reap the benefits of thy works.

Conclusion

Saturday did turn out to be a great day for me, even though I was extremely tired at the end of it, it was quite worth it. I hope you enjoy the rest of the week guys. Happy weekend people!!

Thanks for your time once again

7
$ 2.45
$ 2.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 3
Avatar for Talon
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Life must go on no matter how strong the wave comes.

$ 0.02
User's avatar EJ
2 years ago

That's the spirit bro

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well exactly sometimes just sudden tides ruins everything and the things we are assuming solid went in the ear even we lost the surface beneath our foot

$ 0.02
2 years ago