My First NFT Experience: Ended In Ice Cold Tears

0 44
Avatar for Talon
Written by
2 years ago

It's really quite funny how suddenly things can just turn around. If you read my last article about how I was finally done with my industrial training, you would probably have been wondering about my inactivity since then. Well, what can I say? It's been a really long day since then.

I've made no secret of everything that transpired the first time I dared to venture into the world of NFT, howbeit on our favourite side chain, smartBCH. I thought it to be the dream start for a noob, why you may ask? Let me give a brief summary of the whole deal.

The NFT in question is cattos NFT by @NakamotoBch Being one of his subscribers, when he wrote an article about the upcoming launch, I waited for the launch, having read the roadmap and thought it quite good. You might say as a noob, I don't know enough to really make an assessment of the roadmap, maybe so, still I bought some. I was later motivated to get some more after I asked one of my mentors on here about his thoughts on cattos. While what he gave me didn't amount to financial advice or an affirmative endorsement, he did seem to think well of the project.

Fast forward to a few days later, I heard about how he sold one of his for 0.1BCH and I was wowed. I decided to list mine and pray for luck. Less than twenty four hours after lusting mine, I had successfully( or unsuccessfully) sold one for 0.2BCH. Deal of my life, I thought.

I was really basking in it, as I really needed that money at the time which was what really spurred me to even list them. Having sold one, I later unlisted the others. I was happy, been happy, because I was able to cover some of my financial need as a result of that deal. All this while, I kept trying to access the rarity list, but it wasn't loading.

A few days ago, the rarity list/ranking came online and I went to check the NFT I had. I've got to admit, in that moment, I really wanted to make mince meat out of Mr @NakamotoBch, because I learned, that what I sold for 0.2BCH was worth 10x more, as it was NFT #1144, ranking 37! of 10000. You are wondering why I would want to make mince meat out of him😂😂.

I heard the rarity list was online for about 30 minutes before it was taken off on the day of launch, hence the playing field was anything but levelled as some people had the advantage of hunting specific NFTs, and in same vein, the person who snapped mine definitely knew what he was getting(more like stealing). If we all had the same access, I probably wouldn't have thrown away my golden goose, neither would the buyer have known to steal it quickly before I could realise what was happening.

I'm sure a lot of work has gone into this project, and I've got to say well done to Me @NakamotoBch for all of it, but I've also got to say to @NakamotoBch, I hold you responsible for my loss😂😫😭(kidding, not kidding). Since coming about this knowledge since yesterday, I've not been able to eat well or sleep well, I'm almost depressed.

I can't quite shake of the feeling that this was the breakthrough I've been praying to God for and now it's gone, it makes everything looks gloomy. I'm just really sad and everything has lost taste and colour to me since then, probably will remain so for quite some time.

I'm trying to see a bright side to it, but I don't think see any. I might have been able to recover my investment, but what I lost in making that sale will always overshadow whatever good side there is or was to all this.

Thanks for reading.

4
$ 1.04
$ 0.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
Avatar for Talon
Written by
2 years ago

Comments