Unpaid Debt

2 37
Avatar for Tahastories
8 months ago
Topics: Money, Debt, Writing, Blog, Experiences, ...

Three years ago, when i was college's student i received a message on facebook. That message was from my school teacher who taught me during school days.

Soon after seeing the message i thought that might sir just want to do chit chat with me. But i was wrong because in real sir want to take money from me as debt.

After little formal chats he requested me to give him $20. At that time, when i was student $20 was a big amount to me. I was shocked at that message. My response was that " My Dear teacher! How could i have $20. It's too much for me".

He replied; Yes, i know that you are a student. I also know that you have your own expenses. But, I am in need. I have no one to contact to. That's why i am texting you. Believe me, I will soon give your money back. Don't worry my student, within 2-3 days i will give your $20 back to you.

This particular reply of my teacher made me think that might be sir is in need. Otherwise why would he will message a student like me.

Also i was thinking a counter thought that why just me. Why just approached me. There are so many friends of my teacher.

After struggling a bit with thoughts i bothered my hands to type text to my teacher. I started text by inquiring sir that how i can give you $20.

He provided me a solution that " Go to your father and make any excuse". He suggested me " to take money in the name of books".

I did the same. I went to my father and asked for $20. I made an excuse that i have to buy books. I was feeling guilty that this is wrong and what if he didn't gave me back. Even i thought that i will give those $20 to my father.

The next following day,

I went to cash transfer shop and i gave them $20 and told them teacher's number. Within few seconds transaction had been done.

Later on, i just asked once for my money. But my teacher didn't respond to me. Even after few days he might blocked me. I felt bad but i thought that it's okay. Because at the end of the day he was my teacher.

You might be thinking that why i am telling this 3 year's back story?

The interesting twist is that- again he approached me on facebook. I responded back with wave. He asked me for my whatsapp number. I knew that this time again he will ask for money. Regardless of all knowing, i gave him my WhatsApp number.

There he messaged me that he is in need and he wanted $15 from me.

[source ](https://pixabay.com/illustrations/no-money-poor-money-no-crisis-2070384/)

As i have learned from my previous experience. That's why i refused him saying that this time i am also looking for money.

That's how i tackled the situation.

There are so many people who have taken money from me but never have returned. This is one of them.

4
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Tahastories
8 months ago
Topics: Money, Debt, Writing, Blog, Experiences, ...

Comments

Borrowing from a student can create a potentially uncomfortable dynamic. It's generally better for teachers to avoid borrowing from students to maintain a professional relationship.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Oh this reminds me of what happened to my bestfriend a year ago. We have this former subject teacher, we are really not that close to her and she is always busy to know us one by one. After a year, my bestfriend was surprised recieving a message from her asking if she can borrow a money, my bestfriend just reply that she don't have money.

$ 0.00
8 months ago