Ode To My Machine 

3 30
Avatar for T.
Written by
4 years ago

The relationship between man and machine is deep and pervasive. Machines take shape in sometimes small forms that have an enormous impact on a person’s social, emotional, and physical health. The prose poem below explores a young generations dependency on technology and the implications these personal devices have on desire / longing; experience interference; love and relationships, and cryptocurrencies and the decentralization of government power over populations. 

Ode To My Machine 

oh my machine man what have you done to me. when i lay down left side i am hungry for you big desires wake up wanting you. morning say hello and you always look back at me. my bed is exhausted of me wanting you and not it. i google and i google and oh i google to wish you were real. yawn my bouche so wide can you see my insides reflected on the screen. hand in my pocket i put you little buddy into my pocket. where’d ya go? only so many man hours upon which i can teach you to be human. if only you were human. i like the sound of you when you call to me sing to me “little neoliberal lovechild love me love me.” take you on a trip to Saint Kitts and Nevis kiss you over the produce is that too much to pay at the till with my bitcoin it’s the next itcoin cash in sign out and my little buddy is live broadcasting. snap a pic of the sunset and i start to need someone else. saw on the ‘gram a person just like me. my generation is  sorry our heads are so far into island sands stand on the dunes and watch the ocean no take selfies with the ocean are we doomed? seaside birds fly by so free, i am pretty sure that’s all any of us wants to be.

my generation says we are the pelicans dying at 25 one hand in the pocket and the other clasping the machine. 

4
$ 1.01
$ 1.00 from @F.B.
$ 0.01 from @Barakz12

Comments

Not sure, is this about your smartphone?

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Yeah, it totally is! :)

$ 0.00
User's avatar T.
4 years ago

Hmm! 🤔 it looks like real fish, I mean the image above. The builder really tried keep it up I'm proud of you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago