Wishing a unicorn to life

0 11
Avatar for Sylv_Sylv
1 year ago

Mum and I moved into Farmsville two months ago. This time, she rented a two bedroom apartment which was unlike the cranky one bedroom that we usually rented at other places. Moving from town to another town and from one neighborhood to another was what I had grown up to know. We never stayed for long in a place. It was either mum would loose her job or she would come back home with a tear stricken face and tell me to pack my stuffs. When that happened, we would live in her old car for a while before finding a new apartment. I always understood that it was a lone world for me and mum and I never demanded much from her, because I knew she was struggling to get by.

I never kept friends because our constant movings did not afford me the opportunity. I didn't even know how to make friends. The few times I tried to befriend other boys my age, I couldn't even look them in the eyes and they ended up picking on and mocking me.

Even after we had moved to Farmsville, all I did was stare longingly at other boys when they played football or rode on their bikes round the neighborhood. I knew we would eventually move again, but I wanted to enjoy my time here with other nine year olds like me. I just didn't have the courage to do so.

Mum enrolled me in a school in Farmsville and I was placed in grade 4. Most of my classmates boasted and told stories about their friends but I had none to tell. I was known as the boy who never spoke in class.

One day, our teacher took us to see a fair which was said to hold yearly at Farmsville. They had lots of games for kids. My classmates did not hesitate to play in pairs. I was the only one left out. I had no friend and I was too shy to ask to play with a pair. The teacher must have noticed naive me because she paid me special attention and made sure I participated in one of the games. She enticed me with a unicorn as a price for the winner of the game. I loved unicorns so I couldn't say no. I formed a pair with her and soon we won the game. Well I did most of the job, she was just there as support. I won the wooden unicorn.

That day when I got home, I couldn't help but reminiscence about the Farmsville fair event. I wanted to witness what it was like to laugh with friends and the teacher showed me. I couldn't help but wish I had friends. Maybe then I would laugh everyday like I did at the fair. That night, I went to bed with my beautiful wooden unicorn. It didn't bully me, neither did it mock me for not having friends. I couldn't help but say to it, "my beautiful unicorn, I really wish you were alive. You would be my best friend. We will ride around Farmsville and make beautiful memories as best friends". I kept fantasizing about a beautiful life with my wooden unicorn until I drifted off to dreamland.

What woke me up the following day was the feeling of something nuzzling my leg. I thought it was mum waking me up, but when I opened my eyes, I found two curious eyes staring down at me. It was then it dawned on me, those eyes belonged to an animal with a big horn in the middle of it's head. My unicorn had come to life like I wished!

From Servicescape.com

This is a fictional prompt gotten from https://www.servicescape.co

Lead image from unsplash

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Sylv_Sylv
1 year ago

Comments