Mr. Pickles wants to take over the world

2 16
Avatar for Sylv_Sylv
1 year ago

I woke up again to the absence of Mr. Pickles from the bed. I had to turn on the bedside lamp just to be sure he wasn't hurdled in any corner of the room. I never liked it if he didn't sleep on my bed. Rubbing his soft furs and holding him tightly in my arms was what I liked doing the most at bed time. But once it was midnight, I would wake up to his absence from the room. Just like now, I wondered where he had gone.

Mr. Pickles was a gift from my grandma for my seventh birthday. He was an old cat that had seen his fair share of life but I still loved him nonetheless. Mr. Pickles had his own bed but I never let him sleep there. I had to keep him by my side at all times, even at night.

I stepped out of my room to search for Mr. Pickles and bring him back to our room, but I couldn't find him anywhere in the house. I went back to my room, but that was after mum had come downstairs to coax me back to bed.

The following day, I decided to make sure Mr. Pickles never leaves the room at night without me trailing him. So I played less during the day. Well I asked mum what makes people sleep too much at night and she told me that when I play too much, I will be too tired at night and that will make me sleep too much. She also said that sleeping too much during the day will make me unable to sleep at night. I made sure to sleep more and also play less during the day.

That night, I made sure to hold Mr. Pickles tightly in my arms. It worked because I was able to feel it when he slipped away from my grasp. I waited for him to leave the room before following him. I wanted to know where he goes to every night. If he had made other cat friends that play with him at night. I wanted to know.

I followed him outside the house but soon lost track of him after he had made his way to the woods. I began to wander about in search of him. I soon came to a clearing. It was then that I began to hear voices

"You are wasting our time Mr. Pickles. How can our plans to take over the world work if you keep living in that house"

"Well, that little girl keeps holding me hostage. She doesn't give me breathing space. She followed me here but I had to confuse her"

I wasn't sure what I was hearing. Someone wants to take over the world! I had to take a peek to see who they were. So hiding behind a tree, I looked to see my Mr. Pickles and other cats I counted to be twelve. There were no humans among them, so who spoke? I couldn't believe my ears when one of the cats looked at me and shouted in a voice I could understand

"Human! A human is here"

All the cats looked at me and I ran away in fear. It was frightening to see a cat speak especially at night.

I ran into the house and made my way upstairs and into my parents room.

Mum and dad were shocked to see me panting. Before they could say a thing, I shouted.

"Mum, dad, Mr. Pickles can speak and wants to take over the world!"

They must have thought I was joking because mum just held me in her arms and tried to convince me it was a dream. They wouldn't believed that Mr. Pickles can speak nor that he plans to take over the world with other cats.

I decided to stop Mr. Pickles in my own little way by making sure I locked the door every night so that Mr. Pickles cannot leave at midnight to plan on taking over the world.

This is a prompt gotten from servicescape.com

Thanks for reading

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Kacy01
Avatar for Sylv_Sylv
1 year ago

Comments

Awwwwn it’s good to know that Mr. Prickles was loved and slept by it’s keeper always during the night even though he had his own bed

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mr. Pickles seems old and it doesn't bite? I used to think that it's only the little ones are accommodative

$ 0.00
1 year ago