Little black Chick: Kookoo

1 11
Avatar for Sylv_Sylv
1 year ago

Hello read.cashers. Hope you all had a nice day. Well mine wasn't all fun because I lost Kookoo today. Kookoo is a little black chick that I keep. She became an orphan when she was barely two weeks old. Her mother went out seeking for food but never came back. Kookoo became a strong chick that had a strong will for survival. I make sure to care for her in the little ways I can.

She does not like to wander into the bush, perhaps to avoid other fowls that may pick on her. She would just wander around the house for a few moment and then retire to the little house I made for me. I would say that her most lovely moments would be when I feed her. She would quack around and refuse to leave the place.

I almost lost kookoo last two weeks. I came back from work and looked around the kitchen side but didn't see her. It was her favorite place to roam about so it was surprising not to see her there. It was after I had changed my clothes and gone back to the kitchen that I found her. Fear overtook me. She was inside a bowl filled with cold water. She was already freezing from the cold, she could barely breath.

When I got her out, I wrapped her in a warm towel in hopes that it would keep her warm while I light a fire. It had rained heavily that day, and the temperature was very low. Kookoo was just a chick, so I never thought she would survive. But she proved me wrong. All it took her was three hours to move her tiny legs again. She spent the rest of the day at the fireplace.

The following day was a weekend. Before I could finish my chores, Kookoo was up and already roaming around the compound. I was happy toß see her in good health. That was the moment I realized that Kookoo meant so much to me. I began to take daily precautions to ensure that her drowning accident would not repeat itself again.

Ever since that incident, Kookoo never stays away from the fireplace. Each time she notices that the fire is burning, she would come to warm herself. I guess it is because the weather has been a bit cold recently. When the fire is not burning,she makes sure to stick around, just in case.

It wasn't until yesterday that I realized that Kookoo has been sick. When I feed her in the morning, she didn't eat much and she acted all tired with her droopy eyes. That got me worried. She stayed at the fireplace all through yesterday. I had to occasionally keep food for her there, but she still didn't eat much. So I bought some medicine which I added to her water but she wasn't willing to drink much.

This morning when I got up, I waited for her to come out so I could feed her, but she never came out. I went to her little house and discovered that my little Kookoo has left the world. She had decided to join her mother. I was heartbroken. I liked Kookoo too much and I wish she didn't have to go, but she is gone. I do not think I will ever have another chick like Kookoo again. I'll greatly miss her.

Thanks for reading 💖

Fiction

All images from Google

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Sylv_Sylv
1 year ago

Comments

I’m soo glad that Kookoo chick. But I was sad for her keeper because Kookoo had to live her and go with her mother 🥺🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago