Folktale: The creation

3 29
Avatar for Sylv_Sylv
1 year ago

Hi dear readers and subscribers. How are you all doing. So today I had to squeeze out a little time to write this short story. It has been long since I last shared a folktale here.

We all have our myths and believes about how the earth was created. It is thesame way that folktales have their different ways of telling the story of the creation animal kingdom.

It is said that after Olisa (the creator) made heaven and Earth and perfected his creation, he called the animals he had created for a meeting. He wanted them to air their opinions on how good or bad they saw his creation work.

The first to air his opinion was the tortoise. He said to Olisa,

"I do not like the fact that you made my back too visible. I know you have created me to be beautiful, but what if my beautiful back begins to earn jealousy from your other creations. Where then will I hide".

Olisa thought about it and decides to give a permanent solution to the tortoises' worry. He simply made a shell and covered his back. He made sure the shell was big enough for the turtle to hide himself in the face of danger.

The giraffe also had a complaint or rather a contribution to make. He said to Olisa.

"The other creatures you made are too noisy and loud. I do not like it. I would appreciate if you made me different from them. Let me be able to see all things but remove the noise from me".

Eledumare granted his wish by making the giraffe a mute. He also made the giraffe's neck so long. That is why the giraffe sees all, knows all but never makes a sound.

The fowl made a request saying, "what if the earth becomes too small for all of us. Can't you make it such that some of your creatures will disappear when that time comes".

Olisa the creator thought about it and decided to introduce death so that the earth will never be too small for his creation.

The other animals made their various requests and thus Olisa granted them their u iwue features.

The end

I've been so busy recently that I hardly have time to do anything on this platform. I have lectures fixed tomorrow from 8am to 6pm. It is so frustrating and tiring but I just can't give up, never.
I'll try as much as possible to post and comment on articles whenever I get the chance.

Lead image from unsplash

7
$ 0.06
$ 0.02 from @esmeesmith
$ 0.02 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.02 from @flapiz
Avatar for Sylv_Sylv
1 year ago

Comments

I enjoyed reading this😃

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So girrafe don't make sound? I haven't heard about that till now. Wow! Thanks for sharing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

you are most welcomed

$ 0.00
1 year ago