Folktale: Sultan and the stupid wolf

4 23
Avatar for Sylv_Sylv
1 year ago

Bohemia

A peasant family once owned a watchdog by the name of Sultan as one of their domestic pets. The dog got old, and the peasant chased him away because he thought he could no longer perform his responsibilities effectively. The dog left the village feeling defeated and with his head hung low, muttering, "So this is what I get for sticking with a tough job. They chase me away and don't let me rest now that I'm old and frail after using all my youthful and active years at work."

He sadly continued on his way, wandering aimlessly for many days without finding any suitable shelter. He arrived in a forest, emaciated and exhausted from his long journey. A wolf emerged from the woods, ran up to the helpless dog, and cried, "Stop, old man! Beware, you are now under my control."

When he heard the wolf speak in this manner, the terrified old Sultan exclaimed, "Take a good look at me, dear friend, and your desire for me will vanish. I'd make the worst roast you've ever had because I'm nothing but skin and bones. But I do have some suggestions for you."

"I don't need your advice, you miserable creature," the wolf said. Even before you say it, I know what you're going to say: I should let you live. No, I'm not going to change my mind. "To cut a long story short, I'm going to eat you."

"I wouldn't think of asking that of you, because I don't want to live any longer," the dog replied. Bite away for as long as you want. But I do have some sound advice for you. Isn't it better to fatten me up first before eating me? You'd lose nothing on the feed because you'd get it all back on me. Then I'd make a good roast. What do you think, Brother Wolf?"

The wolf said something "If the feeding isn't too long, I'll do it. Accompany me to my hut."

This was done by the dog, and they went deeper into the woods together. Sultan crept inside the hut while the wolf went out to hunt some game for the weak dog. When he got back, he threw his capture to Sultan, who devoured it.

The wolf appeared the next day and addressed the dog, "You ate the day before. Today I'm going to eat."

The dog's response was, "What are you contemplating, dear wolf? I barely felt the food from yesterday in my stomach."

This irritated the wolf, but he had to be content with returning to the woods to hunt game for the dog. Our Sultan put off the wolf with similar responses as long as he was not strong enough to fight the wolf. The wolf kept hunting and bringing whatever he caught to the dog, eating little or nothing himself so Sultan would have enough. As a result, the dog grew in strength, while the wolf grew in weakness.

The wolf approached the dog on the sixth day and said, "I believe you are ready now."

Sultan responded, "Yes, absolutely. To be sure, I'm feeling so good that I'll take you on unless you let me go."

The wolf spoke up "You've got to be kidding! Consider this: I've been feeding you for six days while eating nothing. Is it now my fate to leave with nothing? That will not do!"

"You are partially correct," Sultan replied, "but does that give you the right to eat me up?"

"That is the right of the strong over the weak," the wolf replied.

"All right!" said the dog. "You have thus passed judgment on yourself." With these words, he took a risky leap, and before the wolf knew it, he was on the ground, defeated by Sultan.

"Because you allowed me to live, I will not kill you right away, but will instead leave your life to chance. Choose two friends to accompany you, and I will do the same. Come here in the woods with them tomorrow, and we'll settle our dispute."

The two split up to find their fellow warriors. The wolf walked deeper into the woods, furious. The dog dashed to the nearest town. After much begging, the wolf was granted the company of an ill-tempered, grumbling bear and a cunning fox.

Our Sultan was the first to rush to the parsonage, where he persuaded a large gray cat to accompany him. Then he went to the barnyard of the town judge, where he found a brave rooster as a second fellow warrior.

When Sultan met and fought with the fox, the fox was defeated and so went home in shame with it's tail between the legs.

The news of the brave deeds of Sultan spread far and wide, also to the village where Sultan had formerly served. The peasant family took back their loyal watchdog and cared for him.

Thanks for reading ❤️

Lead image from unsplash.com

6
$ 0.84
$ 0.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @tired_momma
$ 0.02 from @Princessbusayo
+ 2
Avatar for Sylv_Sylv
1 year ago

Comments

Thanks for sharing this.It helps us in knowing the right things to do

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice story. Food is a major source of strength to any mammal, remove move and you've succeeded in removing strength

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I am glad Sultan got his home back it does make me think how we humans too slave off for our jobs and in the end regret not living well while younger.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is part of the morals of the story. Thanks for dropping by

$ 0.00
1 year ago