A productive day

7 12
Avatar for Sylv_Sylv
1 year ago

Everyday, an average person wakes up with plans of achieving great and better things for the day. The rich, the poor, the young and even the old wake up each day with this mindset. Most end up achieving it most hope on tomorrow to do what they could not do today. I'm a big fan of doing it today because tomorrow never comes. Today you will say, 'let me achieve it tomorrow'. The day will come and go and another day will come, yet you will still say, 'let me do it tomorrow'. So you see, tomorrow is a day that never comes. You can even get old waiting for it. So it is better to always do it today and stop procrastinating.

I was able to achieve a lot yesterday and today, and I'm so happy about it. Just last week, a friend of mine told me about Opus Dei, a worldwide Christian organisation that is aimed at human financial and spiritual development. They offer free skill acquisition training to people who are interested and it is not limited to Christians alone. They offer lots of skill acquisition trainings for both men and women free of charge.

I have been wanting to learn bakery for a long time now but never really created the chance for myself. So when I heard about Opus Dei, I decided it was now or never. I followed my friend to the center on Saturday and guess what, they were so welcoming. Those in attendance would just decide among themselves as a group what they would like to learn and then task themselves on amounts to contribute for buying the needed ingredients for their bakery. What the Opus Dei center then does I'd to provide the learning environment as well as the non paid professionals that would take on the teaching.

I joined a group and we decided to learn how to make cake, buns and soya(soy) milk. We only contributed a paltry sum each to make up the money for the needed ingredients. The learning took place yesterday and we learnt to make buns and soya milk. Cake lesson was shifted to today. I already had an idea about buns making so it was easy to learn. Soya milk was one thing I never knew would be simple to produce. I always saw it as a hard drink to make. I also didn't know that soya was even a type of beans. Big girl like me, but learning sha never ends.

I loved the soya milk preparation so much that I would like to share. You can try the recipe at home and thank me later. So for those who do not know, soya milk is a natural milk drink made from beans called soya. Just like you have your regular milk in both powdered and watery form, you can also make your soya milk in both forms. The choice is yours.

First you must get your soya beans from the market and pick out the bad seeds. You can measure it in cups. Four cups of soya beans can give you close to five litre soya milk.

Add water to your pot and put on fire. When the water has come to a boiling point, add your soya beans and boil for twenty minutes. After twenty minutes, bring the pot down, leave the soy beans in the hot water overnight or let's just say twelve hours.

After your wait time is over, remove the beans from the water and rub with your hands to remove the outer skin of the beans, just like when you process your moi moi. Then take the beans to the grinder. Do not use electric grinders because they will not get the job well done. It is more advisable to use commercial grinders, that way your beans will be well powdered.

When you come back from the grinding machine, sieve it immediately as it will just sour if you waste time. It is better to use cloth sieve like you do your pap. If your soya milk is well grinded, only a little chaff will be extracted.

Turn your sieved soya milk very well and pour in a pot. Then start boiling. You can choose to leave the pot open or cover it. Just know that when the pot is covered, you need to pay attention to prevent the milk from pouring away when it comes to a boiling point. Do not turn while on fire. Your soya milk is ready when you begin to perceive the scent of milk. Bring down the pot and add a pinch of salt and half a cup of sugar. You can add a cup of sugar if your taste bud loves sugary stuffs. There goes your soya milk. Refrigerate and drink for as long as two weeks. It spends only a day without preservation before spoiling.

If you want your milk in powdered form, then remove the bad seeds from your beans. Boil for twenty minutes then remove the outer skin by rubbing it off with your hands, then sun dry it or dry using any other method you know. When it is dry, fry it for a few minutes then grind. Your soya milk powder is ready. This method is more healthy for babies.

Some people do not like boiling their beans when they want to make powdered soya milk. They just go straight to grind it, but such method does not go well with the digestive systems of babies as well as sick and old people.

I will be sharing other recipes to you as soon as I learn them. Let's all acquire the skill together.

Thanks for reading

All images from google

3
$ 0.22
$ 0.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Unity
$ 0.01 from @Tahastories
Avatar for Sylv_Sylv
1 year ago

Comments

I’ve never tried it before but with it, I’ll give it a try😃😃😃

$ 0.00
1 year ago

you will love it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I believe it😌

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Preparation of soya milk from soya beans seems to be easy. Do you often do it with your own hands?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I only did it once. Before that, I would buy from people who hawked or sold it in shops

$ 0.00
1 year ago

First time I am reading about soya Milk and I am surprised that such thing also exist I will try this for sure

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am sure you will like the milk

$ 0.00
1 year ago