The Universe inside my Mobile Phone

0 39
Avatar for Swca.ch
3 years ago

Can I find stars, pulsars, black holes or even planets with my mobile?

While I do not know much about astrophysics, my laptop and mobiles are researching the universe with einstein@home and universe@home projects in BOINC.

How exiting it is to learn that the pulsar was discovered with a help from the BOINC project. A scientific paper with the results was recently published:

https://iopscience.iop.org/article/10.3847/2041-8213/abbc02

It is totally mind blowing to realize that while listening 3 hours youtube lecture about astrophtsics on my mobile, BOINC continue to compute and search for new pulsars.

The only problem is to split CPU time on my devices between computation of stars and simulating molecular interactions.

With recently earned silver badge for 45 days computing for Smash Childhood Cancer project, I am also closed to 2 years of computing for Mapping Cancer Genomes.

I will be very interested to read research publication about cancer markers and if any new knowledge is obtained with crowd efforts. Even if not, this is still worth trying and developing BOINC environment. But I hope that like einstein@home discoveries, there will be also finding to fight cancer with WCG projects.

Joining science is as easy as downloading an app from Google play:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=edu.berkeley.boinc

5
$ 0.03
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Snezana28
Sponsors of Swca.ch
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Swca.ch
3 years ago

Comments