Key Concepts and Assessment and Evaluation Principles

0 11
Avatar for Superthin13
3 years ago

Assessment and evaluation are essential components of the teaching and learning process. They should be planned and continuous activities should be derived from the curriculum objectives and consistent with instructional and learning strategies. However, assessment and evaluation are often used interchangeably. Assessment is the act of gathering information on a daily basis in order to understand individual students’ learning and needs while evaluation refers to the culminating act of INTERPRETING the information gathered for the purpose of making judgments or decisions about the students’ learning and needs, often reporting time. It forms as part of assessment. Assessment and evaluation should be fair and equitable. Both assessment and evaluation should use a variety of techniques and tools.

Way back during Junior High School, our Oral Communication teacher evaluated our Language Pronunciation Skills by letting us speak certain words inside the Speech Laboratory. When it was my turn, I admit I was really nervous because it was my first time to enter in the Speech Lab. In the middle of my assessment, my teacher asked me to pause and reread those words that end with “ch” and “sh”. After that, she gave me a test paper as far as I can remember, it was a Spelling Test related to words with “ch” and “sh”. Upon evaluating my pronunciation and test paper, she said that I was really having a hard time in pronouncing words with “ch” and “sh” and at the same time, I used them interchangeably in written works. My teacher then provided me information on what sound patterns I need to focus on to improve.

I realized that as a future educator, we need to assess our learners in such specific area so that we will be able to know what teaching strategies we can apply to help them aid their challenges. But before doing that, it is necessary for us to understand and know the differences between, Assessment, and Evaluation. We must understand that both assessment and evaluation should use a variety of techniques and tools. Only through assessment and evaluation that help us and professionals understand our learner’s strengths and challenges. They also help them work out what extra support our learners needs to achieve and get the most from their education. I realized that as a future educator, if I want to improve my learner’s skills, then it’s a great idea to start with an assessment or evaluation.

As a future English teacher, I will see to it that I will help my learners improve their performance especially in English grammar and communication skills by assessing and evaluating them. My students may excel in one and struggle in another; I will always make sure that they will have a room for their improvement. For example, in communication skills, I will let them speak well and listen with one another. If it happens that my learners may lack of language, that doesn’t mean I will keep them from expressing themselves. The more creative they can be with language and the more unique ways they can express themselves, the better their overall communication skills will be. After all, remember that a true evaluation will take into consideration more than just the oral interview on the final exam. We must listen to our learners throughout the semester. Note how they improve in these areas. Encourage them as speakers and learners, and you are sure to reap the benefits, too.

-1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Superthin13
3 years ago

Comments