Depression

2 9
Avatar for Stevnjr
3 years ago

Down, down I feel so low.
Trapped in a tunnel, with no where to go.
Cut myself off from all my friends,
I’ll work this out in the end.

Dark, dark that feeling inside..
Nothing looks good; I just want to hide.
There must be people in whom I can confide;
Understanding friends, who are on my side?

One day at a time is what I hear,
No need to live life full of fear.
Do you really need that anti-depressant pill?
With hindsight every mountain becomes a molehill.

Don’t give in to this dark mood,
Fun and laughter can be your food.
Love yourself and say, ‘I am what I am’
Ignore this hard world you know you can.

Just take the time to work this out,
To overcome a life full of self doubt.
God loves you, the way you are.
Your new life awaits, it’s not that far.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

The author of this poem knows what it is like to suffer from depression. He also knows friends and family who have suffered from this ‘little understood condition’. It is Simon’s hope that this poem will not only help sufferers but also give an insight to those who have never suffered from depression so they may be able to help a friend in the future. 

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Stevnjr
3 years ago

Comments

Well written

$ 0.00
User's avatar Win
3 years ago

Nice one

$ 0.00
3 years ago