Why did I take 16 days to write my first *real* article?

12 81
Avatar for Stea
Written by
2 years ago

 

 

As an overthinker, my thoughts are scattered and all over the place. I write to help myself from breaking down. You see, most of my posts were written just minutes before a breakdown *or while*. Writing them down fixes it and gives them confirmation. I enjoy writing, whether it makes sense or not. So, I began writing on Noise. Abaxas, who introduced me here, reminded me twice I could write these pieces on read, he said-

“Sign up on read.cash for diary-like-professional-looking posts”.

And so I began-

I wrote an article before this *gasps, is this not her first article*. Yes, I wrote one before this; it was like a test drive. I had joined the platform during my exams, and I did not want writing to come in the way of my exams. Ergo, I decided not to start *officially*. It took 12 days for the exams to get over.

Day 13- The day after exams is always a free day, right? *procrastination begins*

WHAT SHOULD I WRITE ABOUT?

Day 14- I had set a Target. Today’s day was going to be spent on reading what others are writing. *procrastination intensifies*

I opened the website to see what are people were writing about, three topics that had the highest upvotes were-

1.     Cryptocurrency- I don't know anything about 'hot' topics like ‘Cryptocurrency’ or ‘Bitcoins’. I have invested in Mutual Funds only.

2.     Finance and Investment- Though I am learning about Finance as part of my syllabus, I do not have the relevant experience to share.

3.    Succeeding in Life- I have some * brag-worthy* medals and laurels in sports, but is that real-life success?

Day 14 was a bit of a disappointment.

Day 15- I made a list of topics I care to write about *procrastination bloops*

But what are the topics I can write here about? Can I write about my nonchalant jibber-jabber? I enjoy traveling and have always wanted to be a travel blogger. I could start there? I'm sure I can write about them, but I was worried if anyone's actually going to read them. Porwest assured me that, maybe, it's the stuff people genuinely want to read. I used 'assured and maybe' in the same sentence. It’s an oxymoron, but that's it, that's the motivation I need! I will start writing, FROM TOMORROW.

And so, I made a list.

WHAT SHOULD I *NOT* WRITE ABOUT?

There has been a trend of negativity in my writing. Once Cryptozeug mentioned that my writings can be somewhat depressing. I’m aware I can be extremely negative sometimes. It takes me only minutes to spiral downwards. If they were giving awards to pessimistic people, I'm sure I wouldn't get it.

 Cryptozeug said, “People don't prefer reading so much negativity.” That's a BIG piece of advice that I needed. I don't want to be writing articles no one was going to read. I'm going to leave all my negative posts for Noise.

WHERE TO BEGIN FROM?

 Day 16-The day I actually opened my notes and started writing.

Alright, I know what I have to write about, and I know what I should not write about, but where to begin? You see, most people write in this manner: Start> Body> End. However, that's someone whose ideas and thoughts are organized. I'm unstructured, my ideas are all over the place and my thoughts are wavering. I love writing, I am not a writer. But I'm here to learn. I am not sure if this is the right way to do it, but this is certainly my way of doing it- I write down sentences that I make sense or belong to the topic I'm writing. I then segregate them into identifiable paragraphs. I process them and keep aligning them until it forms a flow that actually makes sense.

And so, after days of procrastination and hours of thinking, I present to you my first *real* article.

Writing comes naturally to me, but what I write can be *sometimes* unnatural. I someday wish to 'write to inspire'. I write candidly, and I do have some playfulness in my writing that arouses mixed emotions. What are mixed emotions you ask? It's an emotion you feel when you feel all the emotions at once. Pride, Disappointment, Hopeful, Confusion? I'm so proud of her, but did she really write about writing? I think she has potential, but not at this rate. Hein? What just happened?

Please help me improve, I really (x3) need it!

WHAT DOES THE FUTURE LOOK LIKE?

I've mentioned before that I've always wanted to be a travel blogger. Despite the pandemic, I’m not so proud in announcing that I had traveled across Rajashthan during February. I also went for an after-vacation vacation to Goa in March. I have lots of stories. I might post them here.

I also wish to write “diary-like-professional-looking posts”. So that’s going to be a big part of my writing. Some bitter-sweet moments of my life, and drama, lots and lots of drama!

If you've made it till here, congrats, you are now part of my craziness :)

 

 

 

9
$ 0.61
$ 0.21 from @Mr_Trenzs
$ 0.20 from @Eunoia
$ 0.10 from @TengoLoTodo
+ 1
Sponsors of Stea
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Stea
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

A business description is one of the most important parts of a business plan. It is a brief summary of your company's purpose, goals, and structure. Ideally, the business description should be concise and interesting.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One thing that I have found that I like a lot about this current age we live in, wherein everyone can share what they want—no more are the days when you can only be heard when an editor says yes to something you wrote or did. Gone are the days when a music exec had to think your music had mass market appeal to be heard by anyone who wanted to hear it—is that we are not required TO have structure. We are not required to necessarily follow the "rules." Our audiences are not made up of wine-sipping hoity toity editors with a copy of Strunk & White at their side ready to pounce and scoff at the first grammatical error or structurally wrong sentence.

Our audiences are made up of people just like you and me. Regular folk, if you want to call them that.

We can essentially write what we want, how we want, and how often we want, and let our audience decide for themselves whether they like what they see and want to see more of it or not.

The manner or style in which you write your words, and even in the way you structure your sentences and paragraphs—even the entire piece—is your "voice." And your voice is what sets you apart from all other "voices." It is what makes you YOU. It is what makes you unique, and it is what defines what you write.

It is often said that most readers do not become fans necessarily for the stories a writer tells. Readers become fans of the way the writer tells the story.

I like the fact that today we can hear the stories of many more people that otherwise only would have been known had we met by coincidence, or had an exec in a top floor office in New York said yes to.

Just be you, and let us decide whether we like it or not. So long as you write from the heart, and can at least put a couple sentences together, you will have an audience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said! I didn't realise you were here. I am Broxi on noise.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am slowly working my way around here. It is a work in progress. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First of all you have a way with words, people will want to read, but write from the heart as you just did and it will be fun. Travel articles are always popular, me I have started to write stories and it is fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would love to write there too, but the minimum read time is 4 minutes which is a lot! And while I was looking at other articles, they were so crisp and professional, mine is not comparable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just replied to your noise post. My comments there apply.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey! You are not alone. We're basically on the same boat. I am struggling to write( I mean to inspire) rather than to write full of dramas and dramas and negativity. Oh God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha, thanks for being supportive. I see you write a lot. I'm lagging. I'm whipping something up, not drama hehehe I hope it comes up tomorrow :) Hope to see you around :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

sorry i mean me. I'm writing dramas and i just can't help it. Lol. I will be up to read your future works, stea. We'll see each other around!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It will help you too if you read lot of articles here, well you can read articles outside like news and anything but reading works from here is some kind of learning and adopting exercise too.. What type of genres they much interested and what kind of stories they want. Learn from others comments. Because if we just write what we want it might not attract others to read. So Newbies find a the way to research the likes and unlike of users here, just kind of suggestions from me.. LOL.. Have a good day. 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hiii! :) Thanks Eunoia 💖 for the tip and tips :) Yes, I want to write articles users would like to read. I'll surely check out the other articles :) Thanks very much for your support :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago