My sketchnoting process

2 21
Avatar for Sphinx
Written by
3 years ago

Sketchnoting is a graphical way of writing thoughts on paper to write down or present a design process. Figures, graffiti, boxes and arrows provide raw materials without the need for artistic skills.

Sphinx walks you through the sketching process, starting with preliminary elements for planning your sketch, such as titles, ways of speaking, story descriptions, and other useful information.

The content can be adjusted and connected to reflect the flow and hierarchy. These improvements add to the importance of sketch notes and add a personal touch to the visual pizzas.

Image source: pinterest

The process is improved by practice, and the final product mixes linguistic and non-verbal to present information in an innovative way.

In the first sketch studio I visited, I was shocked. I had to keep track of so many things at the same time and so little time to document which ideas I was able to generate. I decided sketching is what I need.

Since I already had visual vocabulary, I was able to focus on creating effective and communicative sketches. When I sketch today, I am following a process that I discovered in my first few months of experimentation. You can follow this process no matter how familiar you are with the drawing - there is always room to grow.

Planning

Before the presentation, think about everything I know about it - the title, description or agenda, the speaker's previous presentations - and how those elements can affect my sketch notes.

Capturing the most important information first

When I sketch a presentation, I am sure that the information below will be more interesting and difficult than before. Before I add complexity, I make simple sketches for them or save space for them. I write the first few letters of each item in the list so I can end the list when I have more time.

Refining the message

At the end of the presentation, I look at my note. Is the main point clear? Is the way of speech clear? Otherwise, I use arrows to show flow, frames to highlight formations and key elements to correct errors. I use all three - arrows, textures and frames - to improve the visual hierarchy of my notes.

TRY AGAIN

Sketchnoting is a skill that improves over time as you give yourself the time and space to learn each note. Whatever process you follow, drawing can be a rewarding practice that will enhance your ability to draw ideas in whatever other context you can find.

Now, try sketchnoting!

4
$ 0.00
Avatar for Sphinx
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Hey you deserve an upvote from the bot! You have good writing skills. Who's your upline?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I forgot who's my upline. Huhu. I got her link from a ph group and when I tried to check again, it's deleted. ☹️

$ 0.00
3 years ago