A story of effort and success

0 20
Avatar for Sorif
Written by
1 year ago

I had not failed my country

I could hear very faint voices as if coming from the other side of the world. The time was about 4:00 in the morning and the date September 22,1961.1 was feeling tired and exhausted and was encountering stiff opposition from the strong tide. I looked towards my accompanying motorboat carrying my manager Quazi Mohammad Ali, skipper Len Hutchinson and the official observer, Mr. J. U. Wood. They were all pointing towards the Kent shore. As I looked up, I could see flashes. I realized I was very close to the shore. I asked what the time was and how far I had still to go. They told me that if I put the last ounce of energy into my swimming, I would set a new world record for France to England swim. This electrified me. The goal for which I had been striving for the past four years could be mine. The aim, which goaded me to swim the Channel six times, each time risking my life and reputation, was so close. Yet it could be far.......

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Sorif
Written by
1 year ago

Comments