How I Won Over Depression (entry 2: All you need is a busy mind)

0 27
Avatar for Sophia_2021
3 years ago

In my first post with this series, I mentioned that the first step of winning over depression is forgiving yourself. Now, let me tell you the second step.

A popular quotation says "A hobby a day keeps the doldrums away." Do you know what doldrums mean?

According to Merriam Webster's Dictionary, 'doldrums' is a state of stagnation. A state where your mind refuses to process a new set of ideas because it is already stuck with the old idea or perception. This is very dangerous for a man. You see, this could only mean one thing, your mind is stuck, therefore, you are not moving forward. You are still running in circles with distress and the constant feeling of isolation, anxiety, and fear are leaping ahead of you. Hence, the second step of overcoming depression is making your mind busy. And how will you do that? It is by doing a hobby.

Yes, saying that you have already forgiven yourself is not enough. You have to affirm it by creating a better version of yourself, and you can do that by discovering your potential and cultivating it into a hobby. What is it that you want to pursue? What is it that you want to learn? What is it that you think will keep your mind busy and your spirit alive?

Every man is gifted with passion and talent. And I believe that you also have that. All that you need to do is discover your strengths and use them to your advantage. Are you good at arts? Or do you have an edge in creative writing? How about in the kitchen? Or in fashion? Whichever you prefer. Remember that it is in the stagnation of the brain that all kinds of dark foreboding memories linger. You have to do whatever it takes to get out of that stagnation.

When I started fighting against depression, I focused more on writing poems and short stories. My works were my outlet and I must say that I was saved because of it. Writing made me feel alive again. The pain I felt was released through the ink of my pen and the anger and resentment were dissolved from my brain yet beautifully captured in a piece of paper. I never thought I could write such emotional and poetic pieces. My emotions heightened my passion and I realized there is still more to discover in life. I realized that depression is not the end of it all. I can be someone I love and not just someone I hate. You, my dear friend, have the potential to turn dark times into a more jovial one. Relive the passion and talent in you. It will ease the burden you are feeling.

There are a lot of things that you can do. Below are some of the things I think are good for a hobby.

1. Writing
I have already mentioned above that I used this as an outlet when I was still in the most depressing time of my life. You can start by keeping a diary. You can write without minding the grammar and the medium you use. The piece of paper in front of you will be your confidante; a companion in times of need.

2. Arts
Painting, drawing, sculpting, dancing, and many others comprise the word 'art'. Maybe it is time for you to channel your energy in developing your hidden talent in arts. All that you need to do are the basic tools and the willingness to cultivate your potential.

3. Photography
Photography is art too. But I am separating it from the rest because of the benefits that you can get once you start treating photography as a hobby. There is so much joy in being so in touch with nature. You can do that by capturing everything that nature could offer; perhaps the rising sun or the hues in the skies above, or maybe the fluttering butterflies would even make it lovelier. You can also connect to other individuals once you start doing this hobby. Try to capture a lady's shy smile and a child's bright laughter. You will be amazed by the therapeutic things it can do to you.

4. Cooking
Every stress is eased if your stomach is full. Who knows, you might even be able to open a restaurant in the future if you start cultivating that talent of yours now.

5. Traveling
Unwind, my friend. It's up to you if you want to do it alone or with a companion. Traveling helps the soul reconnect to nature. And it will also give you the chance to examine and discover other cultures. And while you're at it, you can bring out your camera and start shooting videos. Make a story journal about your travels and experiences. I know you need it more than you think you should.

6. Making videos
As I have stated in the fifth suggestion, you can make a story journal about your journey in making yourself a better person. You can start encouraging other people through the videos you create. Who knows, you can even save some of these people. Remember that you are not alone. There are a lot of people out there who are also suffering like you. I know in my heart that each of us can heal. All that it takes is for us to have the courage to speak up for them and tell them that we are in this together.

These are just some of the many things that you can do to win over depression. If none of my suggestions suit you then please do the honor of discovering what is it that you desire to pursue. Remember that a busy mind is a productive mind. Get out of the vile thoughts inside your head. I know you can do better than that. I know it because I have done it. Now, I am speaking because I have also experienced it. And indeed, doing a hobby was one of the greatest steps that I did to feel better. Just remember that you are not alone in this battle. You can win this.

0
$ 0.00
Avatar for Sophia_2021
3 years ago

Comments