Hidden Alien Worlds of your Garden #001

2 27
Avatar for SocietyOfTape
3 years ago
Topics: Photography, Blog, Story, Art, Nature, ...
A female Playkuli sp devours a large fly.

My name is Cotton Lazarus, and I am a photographer/ film-maker based in Scotland. I used to run a successful blog on Steemit until the platform fell to pieces, so hopefully read.cash has a longer life.

I wanted to share with you some of my images of the macro world. I don't own any expensive gear, I am quite fond of the D.I.Y method and enjoy building everyday photography solutions.

These images were shot with a $5 reversed vintage Pentax lens, an old camera flash and a cereal box. They were all shot in India whilst away filming a Documentary about street dogs.

Hyllus sp, I named this guy Rodger, I found him on the same plant each day. Superb spider.

All the images are of Jumping Spiders, they are by far the most interesting and cooperative Arthropods to play with. They are also very small, no bigger than 1-3mm. Check out this little fella and his supersize meal!

Salticidae munching on a large Mantis.

It is amazing what you can find in a small space.

Some jumping spiders are fluorescent, nice!

Anyway, this was just a brief introducing to my art. I hope you like it. Leave a comment and share some of your images and i will be glad to check them out.

Featured on 'The Hunt' BBC, the spider who hunts spiders. I was lucky enough to find one, on xmas day!

Cheers, Cotton L.

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @AA-Admiral
Avatar for SocietyOfTape
3 years ago
Topics: Photography, Blog, Story, Art, Nature, ...

Comments

Incredible detail on those macro shots... Sadly I can't do that with a cheap phone camera because of the slow shutter and auto focus hehe. 😅

Also a lot of jumping spiders live in our house, lucky they're quite tiny, I used to observe some of them closely with a magnifying glass sometimes 🔎😀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Try using a magnifying glass in conjunction with your phone, you mean get more detail than you think ✊

$ 0.00
3 years ago