The moment that I realised I don't want to be a parent

0 31
Avatar for Sneezewort
3 years ago

It's undeniable that the earth is over populated, yet I still get patronised for my choice.

It was a Saturday and me and my girl friend at the time drove to Tesco (British supermarket) to pick up something for dinner. Even for a Saturday it was incredibly busy, I drove around the full car park looking for a spot twice, before the third attempt I saw that the "parent and child" row was nearly empty.

The "I'm more important than you" space

Now for the record, I 100% agree with disabled spaces in carparks and would never dream of parking in one. Anyone that misuses them deserves any punishment coming their way. But parent and child spaces? Can't stand them.

I understand their intended purpose is to give more space to open the car door to remove your crotch goblin child from their car seat. Something that could also be remedied by just making parking spaces larger, an issue that has gotten worse and worse as new cars increase in size every year.

But that's not why I hate these spaces. It's the sheer entitlement of the people that use them. Demonstrated perfectly by the breeders family that I encountered that fateful day.

I decided to park at the far end of the parent and child row. One of the four furthest spaces from the supermarket itself. (the other three, occupied) Before I even had a chance to turn off the engine, a very large woman in a tracksuit who had parked further down the row marched over and peered inside my car. Oh boy, here we fucking go.

"Oi, you can't park there"

These are literally the only spaces left

"I don't care, you don't have a kid, go somewhere else"

Fuck off.

At this point the car was locked, we were walking away and another woman had exited the same car as the world's angriest piece of ham, followed by three kids that were obviously old enough to not need car seats. And SOMEHOW they had still managed to open their doors wide enough to ding the car next to them.

"if you go in there I'm going to key your car"

At this point I told my girlfriend to go inside without me. I'd wait with the car. I'm very protective of it and was already worried the porker had left grease on it from peering in my windows.

"you're disgusting, I hope you don't act like this when you have kids"

And there it is ladies and gentlemen. The sentence that put me off being a parent forever. When you have kids, when not if. To people like this the thought of someone not basing their entire existence on raising a family is so unfathomable that they automatically presume anyone without is working their way towards.

Do I want to work towards the same goal as someone that threatens to damage others property over a parking space?

As for the rest of the story. She informed me she was going inside to complain to staff. My girlfriend returned a few minutes later, before any other parent and child spaces were taken I might add and nothing else ever came of it.

Of course there are many other reasons why I chose to be "child free" but I'm sure I'll cover them in another article. But this was certainly a pivotal moment in my life.

3
$ 0.60
$ 0.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Sneezewort
3 years ago

Comments