I'm an Usher, what about you?

7 29
Avatar for Sley
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: God, Church, Usehring

Hey guys!

It's Sunday here and everywhere is booming. My work place(an Eatery) is crowded, People with their families enjoying the peak of the blessedness of the weekend. At a point I felt jealous, but no problem, I'm hunting for money.

How has been your weekend so far? Hope you're enjoying it or it's over already.

I'd be talking about some funny experience I encountered in church today.

Seen my sponsors?
They are the full definition
of generosity.
Sponsors of Sley
empty
empty
empty

I'm an usher in my church and I so much love doing it. That's the only platform I find it ease to serve to serve in the church when they say it's good and advisable to physically engage in serving or working in the house of God. Sometimes I used to wonder whether my parents initiated me to ushering from birth because is find it so addicted, but funny enough, I led my parents into God and churching. Lol

I was writing this article to share an experience I had in church today but it seems the spirit is leading me to say more about this ushering work in church. You might find interest and decide to serve God as an usher after reading.

Who's is an usher? This word has many meaning with regards to different occasions, but the basic word there is giving people seat such as in parties, cenimas etc.

Image source

In my church, an usher is responsible for giving members seat, directing them to different angles of the church, taking count of members, cars, bikes, tricycle and bicycles. My church is an international church as it has branches in almost all the part of the world (forgive me for not mentioning name cos I want to sound plain). And we have it in a way that once you know the basics as an usher in one branch, you can serve anywhere in any branch.

I've been an usher since I was 17years and I don't think I'd be leaving that department for anything. I've learnt many things and they've been helpful in my life. Among the things I've learnt are;

To pray for others: There would be times when a member of our Unit would be in a critical states that demands God's intention. We personally take it upon ourselves to pray about it and God always answer. Since we're one family, we took it upon ourselves to stand for individuals for their spiritual demand because anything that affects any member, affect the house.

Brother's keeper: In terms of financial needs, our unit is always there to support. Sometimes students in our midst that suffers delay in paying their school fees are being helped in any capacity for cater for the needs. Even in clothings also, we're always supportive to each other. Most of my fines clothes till now were bought by some of my lovely unit members.

The funny experiences...

First of all, do you know that being an usher is the easiest way to chase away shyness and stage fright? Just imagine standing in the midst of thousands while they are sitting down, all eyes on you. If you cough they look, if you move they look. Hahah.

I was this shy type in my early stage of high school. I barely talk to ladies and I'm seldom found in the midst of people that I'm not familiar with. But when I joined the unit, at first it wasn't easy to cope with being in the midst of people noticed, but I scaped through and shyness was far away.

In my current branch now, it's a big church that has up to 4thousand members, and it's in a student environment, you know what that means, 80% are students and 70% females. You know that kind of setting where you'll be seeing beautiful faces and admiring....shhhhh🤫. If you're shy, there's no way you will cope.

What about dancing? Especially when you have shy dance step hahaha. Let me keep this portion for another article cos I have a lot to say here. Haha.

Another part of our work also involes cautioning of People that are half n*kedly dressed. This is one of the funny but frustrating part of the work. Normally, our church allow all manners of dressing but people are taking much advantage of it, some Ladies (yeah ladies in particular dresses half naked to church exposing their some certain part of the body that ought not to be exposed and we tend to caution them at the entrance, uses pieces of rapper to cover the exposed part of the body. Most times, we direct them to inner seats to avoid being exposed to everyone. These scenarios are difficult to handle cos the lady would be furious and want to cause trouble.

Should I talk about having crush in church? Let me keep this to another story because there's a lot here too.

What about you?

Do you belong to any physical group of service in your church, maybe musical group, pastorate etc. Do well to mention in the comment section

Lead image designed by me using canva app

Thanks for reading

Last day of October 2021

4
$ 0.45
$ 0.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
$ 0.05 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 2
Sponsors of Sley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sley
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: God, Church, Usehring

Comments

I first encountered the term usher, when I joined a Youth camp in one of the churches near in our house. Most of the Ushers are beautiful, that's why I'm attracted on what they are doing :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I don't know but it seems heaven specially select handsome and beautiful faces for ushering work. We are just too cute to behold. Wanna see my pics? Lol. Thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't belong to any group in church, but that's not surprising for someone that hardly goes to church 😅 You're trying sha, ushering work isn't easy and it involves walking round the church everytime

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's showing that you're no the church addict. I'm just imagining, if God is to Accept People to heaven due to churching, na una go pay late entry fee sef.🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dem fit no let me enter sef 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Since I was a kid, i dream to be part of our church choir. But none of them notice me and I also don't have any courage to volunteer as I am a shy type person. But it is my biggest dream before, to sing a song and offer it to our Dear Lord.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agree, being shy is a big discouragement to joining a group like this in church but if you really wanted to, you would have pushed through and join. My own case at first, it wasn't easy at the first instant, but as time goes on I became shy-free. There's an unbeatable joy working in the house of God

$ 0.00
2 years ago