EJK:How Much Is a Life?

0 19
Avatar for Sirjmllanos
2 years ago

One Friday afternoon,while at a nearby eatery, I noticed people outside running and shouting. I asked bystanders and they told me that a man and a policeman were shot while they were drinking. The suspects pointed their guns at both men and warned the policeman to stay still as they were only after the other guy. Alas! The policeman tried to pull his gun, resulting in his anf the other mans instant death

Now I dont know and I may never find out if the main target was dealing illegal drugs or if the assassins were government -supported vigilantes,communist rebels,hired gunmen,or vindictice parties. But this incident reminds me of one of the hottest issues in our country today extrajudicial killing EJK.

There is controversy surrounding the right definition for extrajudicial killing since any killing outside the law or legal prpceedings,even the usual murder or humicide case,can be consider an EJK. I will leave the legalities to experts in the field,but what is clear to me is that people are being killed instantly and anonymously,without being affordes a fair trial or the so called "due process."

I am alarmed for two reasons:First,it seems like anyone,including me and my love ones,may fall victim to these attacks at any time. Second, the value of life now seems so cheap.

The Bible asseres us that God keeps His people safe. One of my favorites is in Psalm 27:1, which says, " The Lord is my ligh and my salvacion; Whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life; Of whom shall I be afraid?"*

Jesus also said that we should no fear for our life but for our enternal life. "' And do not fear those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. But rather fear Him who is able to destroy both soul and body in hell'" (Matthew 10:28)

And wvwn if I lose my life, I have the assurance that " He who raised Christ from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through His Spirit who dwells in you (Romans 9:11). " For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord" (Romans 6:23).

As for those who blantantly take the life of others, it is clear in the Bible that they are sinning. Even children know that one of God's commandments is " You shall not murder"( Exodus 20:13).

This is just a reinteration of what God has earlier said Noah after the flood: "' And for your lifeblood I will surely demand an accounting. I will demand an accounting from every animal. And from each human being,too, I will demand an accounting for the life of another human being'"(Genesis 9:5)

And why is every person's life important? Verse 6 explains,"for in the emage of God has God made mankind."

Moreover,the value of a person's life can only be measured by the price it took to save it. " But God demonstrate Hos own love towards us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us" (Romans 5:8).

So how much is human life?

The answer is in the Cross.

Each of us is of onfinite valur so much so that God's own Son willingly died in our place for me, for you, your family, the stranger next to you, or even the criminal behind bars. Now it may be hard to imagine that truth applying to people who may appear despicable , hopeless, or notorious, earthly honor (and dishonor),or social status, we are all the same children of God who owe our very existence to Him anf sinners who are in need of His saving grace.

The Almithy Creator who is King of the universe has demonstrated the high cost of each life. Should we value it less?

How I long for that day when God Himself will be with us and bring us to a place where righteousness dwells and where we shall live forever. But for the time being, I shall rest in the assurance that I am EJK ( EVER IN JESUS' KEEPING).

Thank you for reading. Have a great day.

God Bless.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Sirjmllanos
2 years ago

Comments