The Phatom (Part 7)

0 15
Avatar for Simple_Girl
3 years ago

Frightened more than you know, I surveyed my surroundings even more. I didn't see Misty's brother anywhere. It's funny, when you are endanger and on the precipice of life and death. Misty never went through my mind at all. At least not until I dared to get off of the bed and make my way out of the room and into the hallway. I saw something hanging near the doorway of a room a few rooms away. I walked quickly to the room to get a closer look. Misty's dead body hung lifeless before me. Her body was stiff and purple. Dizzy, I doubled over sick and puked on the floor, sitting on my hands and knees. All the food I had eaten came out of my stomach. As bad as I felt, I prayed for death to find me, but not at Misty's brother's hand.

I limped to the staircase I saw and made my way down the steps of the staircase.

I sneaked noiselessly across the carpeted living room and finally made it to the door. When I grabbed the knob, my heart stopped beating.

"Where do you think you're fucking going?" A deep, mad sinister voice rang out.

Sitting on the couch in the living room, sat Misty's brother. I turn around.

He stands up, still wearing his mask.

"You disgusting bastard. You killed Misty. She was your sister."

Misty's brother darted across the living room and he back handed me right across my face. The impact stung and sent my world spinning. Before I knew it, I was on my face lying across the floor. I could barely think straight I was in such bad condition. Shortly after, I black out.

Did days pass? Weeks? I hardly knew. I woke up back in the room I found myself in the first time. Except now it was night. The lamp was on beside the bed.

I woke up with a splitting headache.

I looked around the room. My body refused to take in air. Before me Misty's brother stood in a corner with his mask and outfit towering over me, it seemed. Just staring and not making a sound.

With no strength, I lay back down on my back defeated.

"You have one disgusting foul mouth there bitch." My assailant verbally assaulted.

I wasn't strong enough to respond. Then Misty's brother did something to even more horrify me. He grabbed his mask and he took it off. Along with his mask he also took off his black costume.

Tears ran down my face, and astonishment met my eyes and my heart.

There stood Lane.

Only now his face was sweaty and his eyes were wild. I couldn't describe it in words just how wild they were.

"I'm torn between killing you and letting you go." He growled.

I still couldn't talk. I was way too weak.

He came over and he ran his finger across my face, a look of compassion on his face.

It made my skin crawl.

I felt a huge amount of force then side into my head, and once again, my world went black.

I woke up in the hospital. Apparently Lane had a little compassion left after all. He spared my life. Even called nine one one and had the ambulance come out to get me. Then he stabbed himself through the heart.

My injuries were moderately severe. I was in the hospital for a week.

I contacted my parents and asked them to come and get me. I told them the truth about almost getting murdered. I went back home and I finished school in my hometown at a local community college. I had finished all the statements needed for the police before I left, even said a few goodbyes. I felt extremely sorry for Misty's parents, but had managed a farewell nonetheless. I was horrified Lane ended up being Misty's brother. I had even considered him a friend. I wrote Misty's parents a long letter once I got home. I told them how much I loved her. And how much I would miss her. I also wished them well. I went to sleep later that same night thinking of Misty. Seeing her smile. Remembering her laughter. Wherever you are Misty, know you are remembered.

**********The End************

1
$ 0.20
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Simple_Girl
3 years ago

Comments