The Phantom (Part 2)

0 14
Avatar for Simple_Girl
3 years ago

"Misty, wake up." I say, shaking her. She jerks up, scared half to death.

"Danielle!!" She whines. "Don't shake and scare me like that!"

She rubs her eyes. I back up and let her wake herself up. It seemed like forever before she told me I could finally go to sleep.

"OK." I say. "But remember to wake me up if you get suspicious of anything. Or scared. Or if you feel like you're going to fall asleep." She nods and I lay down on the musty couch. I close my eyes. Adjusting my head to get more comfortable, I soon fall asleep.

I wake up to light. Morning arrived. I was astounded. I shoot up off the couch and look around. My head spins temporarily. But its as I expected. Its truly morning. The room is dustier than i imagined to. The windows are stained. Spider webs line the top corners of the walls. But the most surprising thing of all ...... was Misty is nowhere to be found. I look practically everywhere. Where did she go? How creepy is this!? Did the idiot actually leave and try to negotiate something with her brother? I look under the couch. Behind curtains. I was too afraid to call out. Maybe I should try and leave ..... I go to the door and open it slowly to a crack. I look out through the opening. I see nobody in the hallway. I tip toe into the hall and slowly walk down. I'm looking ahead and behind me all the way down. Twenty feet away I turn left at the first opening and instantly recognize the entrance door. I walk quickly now, looking to the left and right several times. I scurry to the front door and pull it open. Now outside, I run like a mad woman. I look around and make sure no one is following me. I run and run. I finally see my car in the distance. I see the bag of candles and lighter misty and I bought on the ground. Continuing to look around, I fish my car keys out of my pocket and unlock the car. I grab my cell phone from the console and call the police. By then I am sitting in my car, the doors locked, and the car cranked. I silently hoped they'd help me find Misty. Dear God, please let us find her. I skid out of the park.

***************

Misty was nowhere to be seen. I spoke to three police officers and they promised to look over the area, but they informed me they couldn't do anything seriously about it until a span of twenty hours passed by. I couldn't believe it. No wonder America had so many unsolved crimes. They wait too late and too long to search for those that matter. It didn't even push them by stating Misty's brother was an escapee from a mental ward in some hospital a state over.

"You should go home and get some rest." An officer told me. I just looked at him. Quite frankly, they're all a bunch of dead-beats.

"I will do with my time as I see fit officer. Just find my friend or I'll take you and your team to court." I say & mean.

They skim the area, but make no genuine effort into the wooded area surrounding the park. If Misty was anywhere, I guarantee its somewhere through or in there.

I head home and change clothes. I decided I would conduct my own search. I dressed in hiking attire. When I arrive back to the park, the police officers are gone. Jerks. Getting out of the car, I make sure I have my knife, taser, and a stun gun ready. I also have my (GPS) available so I can make my way back to the park after searching for a while.

I walk through the dense trees and step on everything imaginable. I get cut by several thin tree limbs. Totally irritating. I hike and hike through those woods. And I find nothing. No hair. No torn clothing. Nothing.

I must've been out there for five hours. I was famished and tired. Getting back to my car, I make a mental note to come back here the next day. I wasn't giving up.

1
$ 0.20
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Simple_Girl
3 years ago

Comments