Second Chance (Part 1)

0 8
Avatar for Simple_Girl
3 years ago

Chad was always quiet. People through out the school in his grade use to pick on him, and virtually make life miserable for him. His younger brother Joe was accepted and even a little popular. Chad was three years older than Joe, and joe did not know the kinds of problems Chad had. Joe and Chad were relatively close. They attended the same church, and were usually together around this time. Both had quite a few friends from church. Of course, Joe excelled more than Chad. Chad was always quiet, so nothing struck Joe out of the ordinary. Then one day ..........

Chad

I feel so alone. I see Mom and Dad providing for me and joey. I appreciate their help so much. Joey is always supportive, and he's always doing so well. Occasionally, I watch him. I have even asked him his secret. He seems so healthy and happy. He doesn't struggle like I do at all. I thought when I asked what his secret was it would help me. After all, he and I have the same blood. But it didn't. Everything seems like its taking such an effort these days. My grades have been slipping. Its hard to eat or get up. I wouldn't even go to church if my parents didn't drag us out of bed every Sunday morning. ....... I have tried to find an interest in something not related to anything I've tried before. It hasn't worked either. ....... :-(:-(

I found an answer. It hit me one day while taking out the trash. Once I realized it was there the entire time, I felt so much better. I couldn't believe how relieved I was. Things began to turn around.

Joe

My nightmare began on a crispy fall evening in November. My best friend Paul had a party thrown at his house to celebrate his sixteenth birthday. I called Bianca, my girlfriend, and asked if she was going. Once that was verified, plans were made to attend the party. On my way out the door, I noticed Chad was sitting on the sofa in the living room really bummed. I stopped in my tracks and decided to sit down by him. I put my arm around his neck. He kinda leaned into me, and I could tell something was seriously wrong. "Are you ok buddy?" I asked.

He simply shrugged. "Probably kind of sick," he replied. I didn't feel right leaving him home alone.

"Do you want to come out with me tonight?" I asked him. He thought about it for a moment, then he nodded. "OK." I said. His eyes lit up a little bit ....... So Chad went upstairs to change and I waited by the front door. I texted bianca and told her I was going to be late meeting up with her at the party because I decided to take Chad as well. ........ Chad came down minutes later. He looked good. It seemed he even cheered up a little. As he met me at the door, I made sure I wasn't forgetting anything, then I turned the living room light out and locked the front door.

Chad and I knocked on the front door and waited for Paul. Paul's mom and dad were not going to be home. I knew there would be drinking and a tad bit of craziness. I looked over at chad and wondered if he would be ok here. I hadn't thought about this before inviting him. No sooner had I thought about it Paul opened the door and screamed when he saw me. He bear hugged me and picked me up off the ground. Laughing, he dropped me and I looked at chad. "This is my big bro Chad." I said, putting my arm around his neck. Paul looked at chad and shook his hand. We went into the house and surveyed the scene. There were over seventy five people there. Paul had a huge house off the mountain by our community. Technically, Paul didn't go to our school anymore, but he only recently moved away. Bianca & I still kept in touch regularly.

To be continued...

1
$ 0.21
$ 0.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Simple_Girl
3 years ago

Comments