Pluviophile...

2 20
Avatar for SimpleWriter
1 year ago
"It's a relief to hear the rain. It's the sound of billions of drops, all equal, all equally committed to falling, like a sudden outbreak of democracy. Water, when it hits the ground, instantly becomes a puddle or rivulet or flood."

As someone who lives in a country where there are only two seasons: rainy and summer, I used to love the rain.

It's raining every day for the past few days. I leave work soaked with rain, my laptop's on my backpack, my umbrella has a hole in it, and the shoes that have been gifted to me were drenched in the muddy flood. When I arrived home, my feet were cold white, my sneakers, brown.

You might wonder from the above statements that these things would make me hate the rain, right? But, actually, I don't. I love the rain so much especially when I'm home.

Pluviophile is someone who loves the rain and finds calm in the drizzle of the raindrops on the roof, the little splashes on the window and in the scent, it brings to the green grass and on the dry ground.

You see, I'm a bit introvert: from a lover of sunset to a lover of rain. Well, the rain teaches us something in life that many people don't realize. Let me tell you my realizations about it.

  1. Rain gives life.

    It's a matter of perspective. As I have said, I am living in a country where it's normal to rain. Sadly, nowadays, a little rain can make many places flooded. It will be alright if it's a clean water flood, but it is a flood with tons of garbage. Is it the rain's fault? No!

    Have you watched the movie Parasite? There was this scene where the rich and the poor experience the same rain but looked at it in a different lens. I'm not being hypocritical, but rain, first of all, was to give life. Every farmer wants to have rain once in a while to water their fields. The earth is refreshed every time it rains. It cleanses.

  1. Rain is part of our life.

    I mentioned above that I used to be soaked in the rain even though I have an umbrella, it's because it's defective. I also remember missing a brand new and expensive umbrella that I bought was lost in school after the classes were suspended due to a typhoon. Why am I sharing this? Well, rain is part of our life. Rain symbolizes the challenges we may face at any moment of our existence. We cannot stop the rain or the challenges, but we can change how we overcome it. Either you brave to be soaked under the cold drizzle of rain head-on or you choose to stay dry while braving it. Trials and challenges are part of life and it will make us stronger and better. Don't sulk under the rain but pray to have a better and sturdier umbrella when it comes.

  2. Rain gives us hope.

    For the ending, let me share to you a story.

    There was a farming village where there was quite a long drought in the area. The dams were nearly dried up and even the wells where they got their water to sustain the fields. having no rain for quite such a long time, affected almost everyone. So they decided to hold a rain ritual. They asked the priest to hold Masses so that God can bring rain like in the time of the prophet Elijah. They did it for nine days. On the last day, they gathered around the fields while praying to God to send the rain. They kneeled in supplication. Others, crying. But they were shocked, when they saw a little boy who opened his umbrella and held it up high. Why would he bring as such, when there was no rain, they wondered. But the boy just smiled, opened his palm while suddenly, there was a tap-tap of drops on his umbrella. There it was, the much-awaited rain. The people prayed, but the boy showed his faith in advance.

    The moral of the story is hope. Sometimes, we might experience a drought in our life where life seems draining out from us but a tiny raindrop can give us hope. Yes, rain is part of our life, it may be a tiny drizzle or a frightening thunderstorm or maybe a destructive typhoon. But it will not last a lifetime and after it, there will be a rainbow, after the rain. There is hope.

I hope you enjoyed reading this and learnt something about me and another word today. I am a simple writer. I am a pluviophile. Are you enjoying you rains, too?

Let the rain kiss you. Let the rain beat upon your head with silver liquid drops. Let the rain sing you a lullaby."

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for SimpleWriter
1 year ago

Comments

Yeah, so much like parallelism in the movie parasite, WHile the rich enjoys the rain, those poor family living in a tiny basement experience floods. The same reality as yours and me. What would happen to those poor people esp. during the cold weather

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also love the rainy season but now a day whenever it rains, my heart beat fast with fear. How homeless people who are still loving in flooded area will survive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago