The loneliness of the vampire

0 60
Avatar for Simon.M32
2 years ago

Picture by João Cabral on Pexels

One of the most interesting points is when you have the fortune of having this gift (Or misfortune, things changed completely). You are sold the idea of immortality, but you are not told at what price. Well, it is not something I asked for; it came to me unexpectedly.

I was 25 years old, about to get engaged to the only woman who accompanied me, in this painful torment, before disappearing and wandering the world. Two months before my wedding, the bite of a mysterious being on my neck changed my life forever. Days were no longer good times, nights were my only escape, and my skin instantly paled.

Victoria never freaked out. She was the only one. I was never aggressive, and she accepted my nature, we are talking about the year 1400, almost 150 years after the conclave of Venice. I was a French nobleman, waiting for my beloved. Despite my unhappy fate, she always accepted me. Those were wonderful years with her company, but we had to face the bitter reality: the years passed in her, but they did not pass in me.

Sponsors of Simon.M32
empty
empty
empty

We could not have children, it is said that it was because of an illness, or perhaps a curse. Things got complicated when she grew old and I did not, the town found out, and it was a huge uproar, I was saved only because people respected my father, but I was banished, and Victoria accompanied me to that bitter fate without complaining.

I inherited a pleasant land and a good amount of gold. We did not lack money, but we did lack acceptance. We lived a quiet life in the country, with faithful workers who did the daytime activities that I did not allow myself.

We spent years quietly until God willed it. She died at 70, quite old at that time. I was still the same 25-year-old she fell in love with. After Victoria, I moved to another town and try to live a quiet life, I was known by many names and titles. I was duke, archduke, prince of a nation that did not exist, whatever it took to move around the world. I was amassing fortunes with the time I have lived, keeping my farms throughout Europe, but that will never make me feel alive, no matter how hard I try.

Gradually I made my metamorphosis to more modern times, always maintaining the status they once knew me for, but without the company of someone who truly understood my problems and calamities. The time came for me to live in the shadows and not worry about them knowing my face.

The day Victoria passed away, something in me died but something bigger took its place, a strong feeling of destruction, that didn't care at all about ending human life. That's why my thirst for blood was increasing, but I still had to keep a promise: I would not kill innocent people to get their blood. I kept decades and decades capturing murderers and rapists. They were few, but they quenched my thirst. Eventually, I also included in my menu thieves and swindlers, and for a while corrupt people in politics (I had my fill of them many times).

From that moment on I stopped being known, it was scandalous enough for people to know those bad people ended up dead and bled to death, but for fear of not being hunted like my vampire brothers, I remained anonymous.

I have already been around the world; I have learned many languages and known many cultures, the thirst for knowledge matches the thirst for blood only, and this world still has much to offer me. From the vilest darkness, I continue to watch them.

_________________________________________________

You can also follow me at Noise.

3
$ 5.59
$ 5.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
Sponsors of Simon.M32
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Simon.M32
2 years ago

Comments