Sighs from a book

0 19
Avatar for Simon.M32
2 years ago

I remember the first time I came to the house, there was so much to do. Everyone questioned me when I moved to town again, did I need to? Not really, but something deep inside me told me I could accomplish something new here. Many of those who could not leave here, called me crazy because there was nothing to look for here, and there was nothing to look for, but there was something to build.

I arrived at the old house where my grandpa grew up; I did not imagine it so deteriorated; I am almost sure that during these years of absence, some rascals ransacked the house many times, maybe even the same friends who received me, of that I know.

The only place they did not desecrate, and it was because of the respect it commanded, was my grandfather's room, that man was very dear to the people. His father was one of the founders of this place, and my grandpa always wanted to see brightness where there was darkness. His room is as if he was still here, that makes me happy. It all got better when I got to see his book of memoirs.

He was very traditional; he put in that book every important thing that went through his mind, and yes he had faith in this town, but he alone could not.

In his memoirs, I could see how the faith that this gentleman had for this town was undeniable, almost sickening, but he saw something that until these days, I have not gotten. He knew that this town could have tremendous potential, but it is the mentality of its citizens that makes me believe it is the fantasy of a very optimistic old man; yet here I am, trying to fulfill that dream.

I could read briefly how he predicted tragedy as if it was something he did not want to happen, but if he did not seek a change it would be imminent, just as it is happening right now.

How to awaken a people that has remained dormant for so long? I suppose it will be by achieving something unprecedented, that they really do not expect, and that is just what will happen.

This house will become an inn, I have the resources, and money is not a problem, but if I want this to work, we must work together. My big dilemma is to know why a town that had potential, got stuck in history and neglect, and get it back on its feet.

1 week later

I had some time off while I contacted contractors to carry out my work and fulfill my company's obligations. Working remotely can be more exhausting, but if all goes well, I will be back in town soon. I was reading Grandpa's memoirs again, and I just saw that it all came down because of a big fire that devastated many areas of the town, but my grandfather claims in his notes that it was arson, and not accidental as many claims.

I tried to talk about it with the few people left here, but they all insist on the official version, and some even get upset and frightened when the great fire is mentioned as if it were a big secret. That only makes me more uncomfortable with the situation, and I want to get to the bottom of it all, for my grandfather's sake, and for my own, because this town deserves something good to happen to it, although I feel that someone would not want it to be like this.

That's why I'm so sorry I took grandfather away from this place, because he wanted to change it, but after so many years and not getting anywhere, I know he left us feeling that regret. For the moment, it is time to calm things down here and see how we evolve; I am sure that I will get to the bottom of everything, and this place will take its shine again, the one that corresponds to it so much.

Lead image source

3
$ 1.94
$ 1.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Simon.M32
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Simon.M32
2 years ago

Comments