Recording my voice

3 16
Avatar for Simon.M32
2 years ago

Something I've done before, but just for fun, to talk to friends, or just to remind myself of things to do. But this time, I was hired by a friend who wants to offer a web stories service (an interesting project by the way).

The fact is that my friend called me because he needed to make a video where his service is explained, but to make it more interactive, I had to record my voice to put it on the video as a kind of "commercial" and show all the benefits of its services. Certainly a challenge.

There were three short videos in less than a minute, but they took me in total about 4 hours. I felt that I had to accommodate some parts, calibrate my breathing and try to sound as natural as possible, undoubtedly something complex, and to add a plus, I had to do it in English, and as you will see, it is not my mother tongue.

I cannot say with certainty that the audio quality is optimal because I do not have the resources of good audio equipment, although I have a good pair of headphones, it never compares with the quality that a music studio can offer, but it was exciting and I quite miss hearing my voice in the final product.

Why we do not like our voices?

Pic by Skylar Kang on pexels

A broader explanation of why we do not like to hear our own voice can be found at the following link. This is basically because there is something called: Voice Confrontation.

In essence, when we speak our voice travels to our ears by an air vibration, and then reaches us internally through the bones. Let's say the received frequency is low; But when that same voice is heard through a recording, all that process is omitted, which causes it to reach us at a higher frequency, and since it is not what we expect, we simply do not like it.

Everything is going through my mind, however, I should finish my work, once you practice constantly, you adapt to how your voice sounds, and everything becomes easier.

Sponsors of Simon.M32
empty
empty
empty

The first but not the last

Pic by Pixabay on Pexels

It's the first time I've lent my voice, but I wish it wasn't the last. One of my dreams has always been to participate in dubbing. In the next few days, I could start doing some fan dubs in Spanish, and in the future, I could try again in English. The reason is that despite handling two languages, naturally, I can be more critical of my voice in Spanish than with my voice in English.

I have learned things over time, and although I am not an expert in the field, I can improve little by little, and give better results.

I even have some tips that can help you if you ever want to use your voice for different things. The secret is, practice, and of course, take into count that your voice must be taken care of like a musical instrument, otherwise, you can harm it.

 

Some tips and recommendations

1-      Don´t drink cold water before using your voice

2-      If you are in a cold place try to cover your throat

3-      Do not clear your throat (This is a bad practice, it can affect your vocal cords)

4-      Practice with some readings before using your voice

5-      Enjoy and have fun!

Final thoughts

I´m not pretty sure if I´m going to make a “commercial” again, but this has been a nice experience that makes me appreciate people who work with their voices too much more. It is a wonderful job and it´s important to know, that your voice, needs to be taken care of because it can be damaged if we are not careful.

This article was written 100% by me based on a personal experience

You can follow me on noise: https://noise.cash/u/SM32

2
$ 0.04
$ 0.04 from @CoquiCoin
Sponsors of Simon.M32
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Simon.M32
2 years ago

Comments

I've always hated hearing my voice. But once I was called to record the voice of a little commercial. And I was very surprised that others might think that my voice could be useful if it sounds terrible to me. LOL

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Science said it hahaha. We do not like our voices, but others might work with that. Next challenge: a fan dub, I truly want to make one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A fandub could be fun. I hope you can do it, hehe Good luck ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago