I truly hate clowns

4 20
Avatar for Simon.M32
2 years ago

A perfect post to celebrate Halloween, above all I feel so bad when I´m close to this character: Clowns. I know this is a very old profession, I know that this is an activity to make children happy and entertained, but I don´t give a s"#$t, clowns do not make me feel comfortable.

I can say thanks to Stephen King and his novel "It", which was later made into a television movie, and immediately became a cult classic. The way that "It" the clown was shown, made so many kids from that time had nightmares, and rightly so, the clown was terribly frightening. The darkest part of the story is that "it" could be inspired by John Wayne Gacy and his alter ego "Pogo", a serial killer from Chicago, Illinois who killed around 33 people between 1972 and 1978.

Pogo the Clown. Link source in the picture

But this is another story, others take that figure of a clown to make it being creepy. I remember when in the USA clown pranks went too far and many people got scared because of it, increasing that fear that many had inside.

Why are they so scared for me?

Many reasons, in fact, their hair, their make-up, what they do, how they laugh, I don´t feel safe close to any clown because I imagine someone truly bad is behind all that costume. When they smile, wow, it gives me the creeps. But there is another reason why I truly hate clowns.

Foto de Christian Diokno en Pexels

When I was a kid, there was a rumor in the neighborhood and the school, and it was about clowns. Basically, it was a group, maybe a gang that operated disguised as clowns, and offered candy to children, then drugged them, put them in a van, and subsequently stole their organs. A rumor that made a cry for two days in a row. I was only 7! I remember that my mom went out for a moment to buy some things for dinner, and when she arrived home I was crying so hard and told her that I didn´t want to be kidnapped by a clown, since then, I fear them.

Sponsors of Simon.M32
empty
empty
empty
Great pepople. Great content

Do other people fear clowns too?

Of course yes! And it has a name: Coulrophobia. And it´s a serious problem because many people who have it can experiment so many symptoms that are not good, and can last for long.

The reasons can be different, but one of them is the one I shared: A traumatic experience. So, in a certain way, clowns had been used not only for entertainment but horror stuff too. And when these cases are extreme, people can have real problems that can cause irremediable consequences.

Fear=Hate

I was certainly able to channel my fear, and while I'm not like that horrified 7 year old, now at the mere sight of a clown I feel an incredible hatred, which in the worst-case scenario, would make me want to hit them. It´s part to grow up I think.

The Doodlebops, source in the picture

Including "IT" there is another group of "Clowns" (I don´t know if they´re even clowns, but I hate them) that made me feel uncomfortable some years ago: The Doodlebops. A group of three guys sing, dance, and do several things while dressing in blue, orange, and pink. They are not basically clowns, but the way their costumes are, make me hate them so bad.

Final thoughts

There is something I wanted to share since a long time ago, so I finally did it. I don't have the same fear, but I am still uncomfortable when I am close to a clown. I know it's not their fault, but as you can see, a traumatic experience can change the way to see everything, in my case, were clowns.

See you next time fellas!

Lead image on Pexels

Remember you can also follow me at Noise

4
$ 1.33
$ 1.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Loucy
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 2
Sponsors of Simon.M32
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Simon.M32
2 years ago

Comments

I don't hate clowns..I want to see one in person.. Coz seriously..never seen them in my entire life. Just in tv 🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I need to know your experience when you finally see one! They´re so creepy for me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think I have Coulrophobia, but I don't like clowns. More than fear, I feel sorry for them. They seem to me dark characters but above all very sad.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I totally understand you.😊 My son is always crying when he see the clown, and I am always asking why. 😊 There is something strange with their energy.. But for me, they are just funny people who are only doing their job.

$ 0.01
2 years ago