A night at the bar

0 12
Avatar for Simon.M32
2 years ago

It was about 11 p.m. I knew because the clock in the bar was in front of me. I find it useful to be in front of it because it reminds me not to overindulge in drinks, so I know when enough is enough. It's a fairly quiet bar. I like it for its simplicity and the quality of people who always come by.

It promised to be a quiet night, and suddenly, she appeared. She was a beautiful woman. It was an interesting way to spice up the night. You know, there's no one waiting for me at home, anyway. I made my masterful move and bought her a beer. She laughed and without hesitation accepted it. My next step was obvious: I had to approach her.

Beer has an interesting property, it can turn you into a very skilled conversationalist with the help of a few bottles. I approached her and she turned out to be a cheerful person. It was the first time I had seen her. I was pretty sure she was not from this town. Anyway, after a brief chat, she told me her name was Aurora. She finished college two years ago, and she was into programming, quite a geek.

Sponsors of Simon.M32
empty
empty
empty

And to my good fortune, she was not from around here, she was visiting for a very sick aunt, but that night she wanted to go out to distract herself.

It's great when you chat with someone who catches your attention, the rest of the world seems to disappear, at least all except the bartender, but who else was still serving us drinks. I didn't hesitate to tell her about all the great things we do in the company, and how important I am to the development of our small but ambitious consortium. The attention the mysterious girl was giving me surprised me, but I loved it.

I don't know if it was the alcohol, but an obnoxious question came out of nowhere. It wasn't my best move, but I asked her if she had a partner or anything like that, and with extreme naturalness, she replied that no, that the night can surprise, and that since I did it first, she also wanted to know if I also had someone waiting at home, and with great elation, I told her no, that I live alone and had no one at home waiting for me.

I felt like a winner. Even though I'm not the soap opera type, I'm not a poor prospect for any girl. I mean, I work, I live alone; I didn't earn a tycoon's salary, but I live very well, and well, I don't have kids. Besides, I do sports, which has to make me an 8, or a solid 7. Anyway, after not boring the pretty girl at the bar, I was ready to take the next step.

Alcohol doesn't make you very smart, but I'm a very lucky guy. I dared to ask Aurora where she lived, and she responded she was staying at a hotel nearby, but that she really wouldn't mind staying anywhere to make the night more interesting. Pass, touchdown.

We both knew what was going to happen and after drinking the last beer, which seemed to take forever, I paid the bill, and Bob, the bartender, looked at me with the look that only those who know what is about to happen and are in complicity, know. We then ordered an Uber (I didn't feel able to drive, so I left the keys with Bob) and went home.

A winning night, we had arrived home to finish what had started as a normal day. I invited her in and she was feeling a little nervous. She wouldn't let go of her handbag. I asked her what was wrong, and she just replied that she was a little nervous. She wanted a glass of water. So I went to the kitchen, and then everything was strange. I felt a little dizzy, but I thought nothing of it.

My dizziness lasted little or nothing because something unthinkable woke me up: it was police patrols sounding near my house. When I went outside to see what was going on, I noticed Aurora disappeared, and so were my keys. Suddenly, the police were knocking at the door, and just as I went to open it, I felt a loud bang on my head, and when I woke up, I was in a chair tied up. And blindfolded. Sirens outside were blaring, and Aurora was in the room with a gun. I don't know what was going on, but I was a hostage. The next thing I knew, I was the bargaining chip in some kind of barter between Aurora and the police.

I was supposed to get out alive just if she was let free. Great. And who was this woman? She looked nice and now it turns out she wanted to kill me. Luckily for me, Aurora didn't notice that some officers came in through the backyard, intercepted her, and finally captured her.

Who was Aurora? Well, her name was Madeleine Connors, and she was wanted in 5 states. Her charges? Identity fraud, armed robbery, swindling, and, in most cases, murder. How? Well, since they were all men, she would seduce them and then drug and kill them at home. Who was the next victim? Well, me, and I was only saved because minutes after I left the bar, the police arrived and thanks to Bob; they could find my address.

I should have been stressed, but the police noticed me quite calmly, after all, I didn't die, and I don't feel any grudge for Aurora or Madeleine. I'm still here. Maybe I can visit her visit in prison. Do you think that after she gets out of prison, she will want to go out with me?

-Erm, Mr. Jones, thank you for the long interview, but are you insane? That woman almost killed you and just so you know, she's got a life sentence, so she'll never get out.

Oh, well, orange suits her after all. Thanks for the interview.

________________________________________________

Remember you can also follow me at Noise.

Lead image on Pexels.

2
$ 1.85
$ 1.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Simon.M32
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Simon.M32
2 years ago

Comments