Interesting News From My Doctor

0 10
Avatar for SilentShadow
2 years ago

I have been doing a treatment with my psychiatrist for my treatment-resistant severe depression. The treatment is called Spravato and is an Esketamine nasal spray. It is similar to ketamine infusions but is a purer form of ketamine, done at higher doses and over a longer period of time.

I first started the treatments last year and had been doing them for about 8 months when benefits decided they would no longer cover it. The treatments had been working really well and was getting to a much better place before the treatments had to stop while we appealed their decision.

During the period that we were appealing the decision, my psychiatrist was looking into alternative options in case the appeal didn't work.

The appeal eventually did work and I have been doing the Spravato treatment again for about a month. During today's treatment, my psychiatrist told me that she had come across another option that either could be switched to sometime soon or in case benefits stopped covering the treatments again.

The alternative is a ketamine losenge. It would cost about $124 for 6 months worth of lozenge treatments. I would have to do the first few in the psychiatrist's office as I do with the current treatment to make sure there are no reactions or problems, but after that, I would be able to do my treatments at home.

This would be much more convenient. I wouldn't have to worry about arranging for a ride to and from my appointments and sitting at the psychiatrist's office for 2 hours for each treatment.

My psychiatrist said we may try switching, the only downfall is the ketamine is a less pure form than the Esketamine, so the treatments could possibly not work as well as with the Spravato treatment.

It is definitely an option I would be willing to try and would be a lot more convenient. It will be interesting to see what happens and to see how well the lozenge works vs the Spravato nasal spray.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for SilentShadow
2 years ago

Comments