The Everyday Duties of a Mother, Daughter and Sister At Home

0 20
Avatar for Shyness
2 years ago

Our home is where the heart is. After a long day of work and stress, it always feels good to be at home seeing our whole family. This is where the good and even bad memories happens but this is also where our love for our family happens. Each member of the family plays a vital role at home. An important role in building a happy family.

I remember before, after a long night of work with stress due to the work itself and road traffic, but once I reached home early in the morning and seeing my mother, father, my siblings and my son, I felt recharged. I forgot all the bad things that happened and it was replaced with good vibes. All of a sudden, my mood change positively.

Especially, when there are special occasions, all my nieces and nephews will be in the house to celebrate. It may be tiring for my mother since she always cooks and prepare for us and also to me because I wash the dishes and clean the house after, but it feels okay because we are together even in those simple celebrations and it only happens once or very seldom.

But now that my mother passed away, a lot of changes happened at home. Our house which was very quiet but happy home before turned gloomy. But the good thing is that we are slowly coping from our mothers loss. The duties of my mom were passed into all of us. Cooking is now done either by my father or sister, cleaning the house and washing the dishes is done by me and washing clothes is now done either by me, my father or my broher.

Since I am still living with my family, I need to get along and help in the everyday chores at home.

Being A Mother

I can say that being a mother is a tiring day everyday. It is a forever duty with no salary. From morning till midnight, I can feel the tiredness and stress that I have never felt before. There are times I almost wanna give up. This becomes a routine and I can say that it is really tiring but on the other side fulfilling.

It all started from the day I woke up. During weekends, even though Saturday and Sundays are my restdays, I still sleep late so I woke up late. I will be fixing the bed once my son and my nephew or niece wokes up, too. We sleep in the living room area only using the sofa bed. Sofa in the morning and bed during sleeping tine. Once it is fixed as a sofa, I will be sweeping the floor and once I went to the bathroom which is beside the kitchen, a lot of dirty dishes is in the sink. I cannot stand seeing them dirty so I will wash the dishes first then wipe the sink, the cooking range and the table. I always do them before taking my 'brunch". Brunch meaning breakfast and lunch together since I woke up late. I want to wash the dishes first before eating. I want everything clean before I eat so that I won't do much after I ate.

I have to feed my son. He is a picky eater so there are times he does not eat rice if he does not like the food. He will just drink milk and eat cookies. But when you served him with "instant noodles", he will surely like it. I admit that instant noodles are not healthy but I need to serve it to him because he eats a lot with rice. But its not everytine. I cooked it once in a while for him. Then, I will bathe him. After that, I can just sit donw for a while and watched over our small store.

At night, I have to cooked rice Sometimes its my niece. Then, I will feed my son again. I take a bath at night. Then, I will sweep the floor, wipe it before fixing the bed. I do it every night. If I won't do it, who else will do?

Cooking of food is done by my father or sometimes my sister mostly in the afternoon. Food for dinner can be the same food that will be serve for dinner. The rest is almost done by me. At night, I also make ice for selling. Especially if its summer or hot season, many people bought ice so I make 8-10 pcs everyday.

In reality, it is hard especially when I have work at night then I still have to take care of my son and there are dirty dishes in the kitchen. Sometimes I can't help but get mad or cry when I went to the comfort room asking myself If I can do it everyday. But I just said to myself that I can do it.

Aside from my daily job, I fulfill my duty as a mother. If only we could go out so that we can stroll again like we used to do before. I missed those days that during my restdays, I find time to let my son enjoy outside even with low budget only. We just eat out and buy something for him that we can afford.

Being A Daughter

Since I am still living in the house of my parents, I have to fulfill my duty as a daughter. My father is a moody person so there are times I get mad at him for having moods especially when he doesn't have money. I understand it because everyone gets moody when they have no budget but aside from that, he has his tempers. I still follow him but there are times I can't stand him. Also, the fact that my mother is gone so he has no one to talk to like before.

My father mostly get mad if the topic is about my partner. I have been open about it. He disagrees with our relationship but when my mom was gone, he spontaneously told me that my boyfriend can go and sleep in the house for 2 days every week. I agreed into it and thought it was very okay but when my boyfriend visited, you can see that he is in good mood to him but the next morning, his face is mad again. I thought everything is fine but I can see that he has different moods towards my boyfriend which I hate.

I have been good at home doing my responsibilities so I was expecting for a simple return even just for my partner. I just appreciate that my boyfriend understands the situation.

Being A Sister

Inside the house, I am a strict sister to my younger brother and even to my older siblings especially to my nieces and nephews. If I won't be strict, they can do whatever they want inside our house like not washing the dishes after they ate, using too much computer and not putting everything in place after using it. My mom used to be strict to all of us beforr so they cannot do almost all thinfs that they are doing now. They cannot stay up late in our house especially in our bed. My mom wilk got angry with that. They cannot eat all that we have in the table.

But now, they all changed. They will only move in the house if you told them to. Move meaning helping in the daily chores. It's as if they own the house. They can now do whatever they want. Being a sister, I do my resposibilities like washing the clothes of my younger brother and going out to buy what is needed at home like groceries.

My Final Say

Nothing is easy in n this world. We all have to work hard to get what we want. We just need to be stronger for our family. Understand each other and love one another.

Thank you CryptoMax and immaryandmerry for the sponsorships. I admire your trust in me.

Happy reading everyone

3
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Shyness
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Shyness
2 years ago

Comments