My Work From Home: A Dream Come True

1 40
Avatar for Shyness
2 years ago

Some says they don't like the idea of work from home. Some likes it. I'm one of those who likes it because I am productive both at home and at work. I considered working from home a dream come true.

I still remember when we were still working onsite. We have a group discussion and our team leader asked each one of us about our dreams.

I told them that one of my dreams is to be able to work from home. I told them that if I can only move the office beside our house, I will be the happiest person on earth because I won't get worried with my family especially my son. In our everyday discussion, there is always one question that will be asked to the team and we will all answer that. They were all laughing at me because most of my answers are related to my family. They noticed that most of my answers are always focused with my son, our house and my family.

This just shows I'm a home buddy person. I enjoyed most of my time at home. This is why I don't travel that much. I prefer staying at home.

The Work From Home

I remember when the Philippines President Rodrigo Duterte declared the Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ) in the country due to Coronavirus or Covid-19. It was March 16, Monday, and I did not go to work that night. I was just informed that we will be working from home the other day. Those who went to the office Monday night carried their.computers and CPUs at home to start working from home the next day.

They will just be sending my office computer at home and also to those who were absent that day. But if you have your own computer and internet connection, the company approves employees to start working from home until the company computer is delivered at home. They will just give the link to the system.

But still, I was not able to work the other day because I don't have the "token" or the small gadget which has codes. We always leave it in the office after working hours. Aside from your own password to access the tools, you also have to enter a code which you will get only from the token. I got it the other day from my colleague who was near to our home so I started working.

I started Wednesday night. It was uncomfortable at the first night because I was using only 1 monitor and usually, we use 2 monitors in the office so its was hard to move from one tool to the other. But I get used to it as I worked everyday.

After a week, I received the office computer. Some were provided with pre-paid wifi to those who does not have their own internet connection.

I love my job since I was just at home. The stress is not too much compared when you are in the office. Though there are many work to process, the feeling of being at home, being with my son 24/7 is an amazing feeling even there is pandemic.

Advantages

Imagine, I can set up my computer even 15 minutes before our shift. I don't have to wear pants or shirts which I wore everyday at work. I don't have to wear shoes. I don't have to wake up early and prepare before going to work. I just need to wear the usual short and shirt and I can start working even without taking a bath. Hahaha.

You avoid the stress that you get when you're in the office. There are people who always follows up on your work like your boss. Their voice whenever they call you makes you stress. But since we are just at home, they talk to us through chats only. Meeting is done online. There are people you hate also that you won't see personally. You will still be stress but only half of what you're getting at work.

I save money for my transportation which is usually high. Before, I used to ride special tricycle, "a 3-wheel vehicle" and a van going to work and going home.

I also save money for my lunch. We ate a lot at work especially if its peak season. This is the season where we process a lot of requests from October to December every year. We also render overtime every day for 2-3 hours and rest day overtime. So if we are onsite, we spend a lot for food. Because in order for you to work, you need to have the energy you needed. Food gives us the energy aside from sleep, exercise and vitamins.

We are all safe when we are at home. We don't go out. That means a less chance of getting the virus. Aside from the virus, we are safe because we don't go out late at night. Less from accidents or incidents.

I can feel that my family had strong bonding. We get to see each other everyday. I always tell my mom before what I experience at work. I am very open to her. Most of the time, we talk to each other unlike before that we are busy.

Most important, I save a lot of time for my family. My shift at work is 9:00 pm so if we are working on-site, I have to prepare for 2.5 hours including taking a bath, eating and travel time to work. Most of the time, I can take a look at my son even while working. I can take care of him 24/7. The hardest part is that we cannot go out to stroll in the malls unlike before. I may have hard times while working but when I just looked at my son, everything turned okay.

I have more time with my son. It is the best thing I can give to him as the quarantine starts. I hope our work will continue at home.

Disadvantages

Though most of the effects of work from home are advantage to me, there are also some disadvantages.

I missed my office mates. When we took our lunch together, whenever we went to the supermarket to buy foods and those chats together.

During free time in the office, I missed those moments when we joke around. Talking about anything inside the office.

Walking was the part that I missed when working-on-site. It was my form of exercise. Now that I am working from home, I don't have any exercise. But the duty at home doubles. I wash the dishes often, clean the house a bit, in charge of our store and taking care of my son. Sometimes, I wash the clothes.

Its hard to get sick nowadays. Now that my mother is gone, it's harder to move. She is the one who helps me with my son when I'm sick. I was sick yesterday and I was crying because of my backache and headache. I missed my mom a lot. I just hope and pray that she is doing fine everyday in Heaven.

My Final Say

Most of the companies are implementing the work from home. I'm hoping that when everything goes back to normal, they will still continue it. If given the chance of looking for another job, I will look for a work from home. It all depends on us if we like working outside or at home.

Thank you CryptoMax and immaryandmerry for the sponsorships. Happy reading!!

4
$ 1.68
$ 1.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @CryptoMax
$ 0.05 from @JLoberiza
+ 1
Sponsors of Shyness
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Shyness
2 years ago

Comments

I say congratulations. Indeed, there are lots of advantages in working from home. You can stay with your family, save a lot, as you have mentioned. And of course, you reduce your risk from covid 19 exposure.

Btw, where is your sponsor box?

$ 0.00
2 years ago