My Supermom is Sick

7 11
Avatar for Shyness
2 years ago

Health is the real wealth. I believe in that saying. Our wealth nowadays doesn't depend on how much money we have on the bank or how much money we earn.

Money can be gone in a snap if we are sick especially if cases are severe.

But if we are healthy and capable to work, nothing is impossible. We can be wealthy in simple ways. As long as we have work, we have food in our plates and we can save a little.

I was sick for a couple of days. But I'm better now. I'm just paranoid because my head always aches. I was also having body aches. It's scary to be sick during this pandemic.

And now, my supermom is sick. She is a senior citizen and have not vaccinated yet. My parents were supposed to get vaccinated for the first shot last week but they were scared of vaccines because of the news on the side effects of it. There were issues of blood clots or even death.

But my cousins told my mom to get vaccinated. They told my mom to worry more on getting COVID and not with vaccines. Some of their parents friend died because of the virus and aside from that were hospital debts. I told my mom to try and ask the head of the senior citizens in our community if they can still get the first shot of vaccines. Its very alarming nowadays to get sick.

I don't want my supermom to be sick. She always wakes up early and she is the one who helps my brother in preparing for his breakfast and packed lunch for work. But now, I can see her weakness. She has high fever and cannot stand up because of her body aches.

I am like my supermom. We are not used to drinking medicines when we are sick. But I told her to drink medicines because its more dangerous to go to the hospital for check up because of the virus. As long as medicines can treat her, we told her to drink it.

Eversince I was a kid, my mom is the one in charge of cooking. I will wash the dishes but everything about cooking is done by my mother. Sometimes, my father also cooks. Right now, he cooks for us since mom is sick.

To be honest, I don't know how to cook. I know how to cook rice, but other than that, I don't know how to fry an egg with the taste I wanted. When it comes to the taste, I need to ask my mom for the right amount of salt or other condiments. It may sounds funny but when I tasted what I cooked, I don't appreciate the taste.

I don't want my mom lying in bed because of her fever . I want her to get back to her original shape. Though she may be old but she can still do some household chores.

We are all worried in the family about my supermom getting sick for days. She usually recovers within the day. We always check for her temperature.

I am close to my mom and if only I could carry the pain that she is feeling right now, I will do it just to make her feel okay and better. She decides on almost everything at home. She is in charge in our "sari-sari" store. She always checks what to buy for the day. But right now, as much as she wants to, she will just sleep.

I told her not to lie in bed everyday because it makes her body heavier. But when she tells that her back still aches, I prefer to let her sleep. She undergone a body massage the other day thinking it would lessen her pain but the next day, she said that the pain was still there.

I'm a mother now so I know it feels for her to see us worrying on her. I can't be sick because my son is too young. He can't move all by himself. He still needs my support. Unlike my mom, we are all in the right age and we can depend on ourselves.

I always remember those days when my supermom takes care of me even at my old age. She always massage my head when its aching. She always reminds me to drink my medicines and checks my temperature once in awhile. So everything she does to me is what I am also doing to her right now.

We tried steam inhalation to her. My father also tried it. We boiled water with 3 tablespoons of salt and when its boiling, my mother will went to the room without any electric fan and cover the body with cloth while absorbing the steam of the hot water to release all the sweat. Its somewhat effective but she still she skips taking medicines so maybe why she is not yet recovering.

This time, we all monitored her in taking medicines and by steam inhalation. She should eat before taking her medicines every 4 hours.

It's really different when the mother is sick. She is the life of the family. Let us take care of our moms. Take care of ourselves. Take care of our family.

We are all praying for her faster recovery.

I was in the bathroom crying because this is where I can release my own pain. I want to show my family I'm tough but inside of me is a crying daughter waiting for her mom to recover fully .

Thank you guys for reading this article.

4
$ 3.35
$ 3.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Tenj
Sponsors of Shyness
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Shyness
2 years ago

Comments

Health is wealth .whether we have billions of dollar of dollar but we cant buy health

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are correct. Health matters. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What's even more amazing woth our moms is that although they're the ones who are sick they would always worry more about their kids and not of themselves. So selfless. Praying for fast recovery of your supermom. I know she'll get through this. She's a super after all. 💕

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you Tenj

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really hurts seeing your mother sick. I was like you before. When my mother got sick, my world turned upside down. I was praying her to be okay. Now she's fine. Nowadays, it's really hard to be sick especially that there is a virus. We are also afraid to be vaccinated, my parents too felt it. I hope and pray your mother to be fine. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Up to now she is still sick. She was ok this morning but her temperature got high again.. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything will be fine. She will be fine soon. 🙏🙏🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago