The Place, Geography & Day Zero - Dodital Dawra Pass Trek Guide, Experience & Journey

0 21
Avatar for Shubhwaj
2 years ago

I was trying to organize the first trek of my life from an year. The mountain tops and passes have fascinated me ever since they started being a part of my imaginations.

Last April, I had a destination in mind and I began preparing a month before. By Injecting some cardio and strengthening exercises for hamstrings and calves into my sedentary regime.

But the Wave 2 of Covid fcuked it all. All the destinations were closed and we had to stay another couple of weeks inside.

Handwork might move mountains, and the whole universe might conspire for your success if you want things. But sometimes you can not run ahead of your destiny.

So all the excitement subsidized.

Fast forward till the end of last December, I had no plans to travel anywhere. And I ended up visiting a heavenly place. Destiny again.

This is a travel log and a heartfelt experience of my first trek. With spell bounding visuals and amazing stories. Bear with me and I would take you on a ride you have never been before.

About The Place

Dodital Lake - Nestled in the Garhwal Himalayan range of Uttarakhand State of IndiaDodital is a fresh water lake and a breeding ground for Dodi(Trout) Fish located at an altitude of 3300m above sea level. It is also the origin of Asi Ganga that converges into Bhagirathi river at a place in Uttarakhand called Gangotri.

Dodital comes under the forest area and can only be reached on foot. The last place you can drive is 'Agora' village. And from there you'll have to climb 16kms to reach the lake.

In Indian Mythology, Dodital is believed to be the birthplace of lord Ganesha. The deity with elephant's head and human body. He is the son of lord Shiva and Parvati. And is widely revered all over India, for being the god of auspicious beginnings, removing obstacles and blessing you with good fortunes.

Why I Chose This Place

This was my first trek, I have been to some short hikes years ago. And so I was looking for a beginner level yet challenging but non technical climb, with a decent efforts to reward ratio in terms of spectacular views and elevation gained.

But you aren't left with many options during last week of December. Most of the trails become inaccessible because of heavy snowfall blocking the pathways.

Moreover, Christmas and New Year celebrations were going in full swings. And swarms of people were present everywhere including at the mainstream beginner level treks.

I wanted to visit some place devoid of typical crowd. As I thought of exploring the local culture, unite with nature, introspect and enjoy the miracle sunrise and sunset in mountains at this New Year. Also, I was looking for a trek that wouldn't require us to camp and carry camping gears.

Some research revealed this less explored place. And that accommodations are available throughout the trek route as homestays and tea houses. A little dopamine rush warmed me from inside. And from the next moment I was engrossed in the planning, to execute this adventure.

Itinerary & Geography

  • New Delhi To Dehradun - 260 Km - 6 hours drive

  • Dehradun To Uttarkashi - 145 Km - 5 hours drive

  • Uttarkashi To Agora - 28 Km - 2 hours drive

  • Agora To Dodital - 16 Km - Trek

  • Dodital To Dawra Pass & Back - 10km - Trek

  • Dodital To Agora - 16 Km - Trek

Elevation

  • Uttarkashi - 1150m

  • Agora Village - 2300m

  • Dodital - 3025m

  • Dawra Pass - 3700m

  • Dawra Top - 4200m

Temperature - Dodital (late December)

  • Day - 0° To -5°

  • Night - -5° To -15°

The aforementioned Itinerary was the route we followed. Alternatively this can be broken further as per your convenience and days at hand.

Dawra Top can be included in the route after Dawra Pass. Which is further at 2-3 km of steep hike from the pass.

But the peak remains inaccessible during winters because of heavy snow. Unless you have the mountaineering experience and necessary gears or the required resources and a lunatic mind.

There wasn't any good trail map available for this trek. So I created one. It shows the checkpoints you'll come across where you can pre plan your stay. And improvise your journey however it would be convenient and enjoyable for you.

Preparations

Well diving into what you need to take on a winter Himalayan trek will need another post.

But not missing out on anything important was my first priority. From the head lights to the first aid kit. I made a list and followed until everything was ticked.

Here is a snapshot of my unassembled back pack. It's missing a few things that were being carried by my partner - the teen brother of my years old friend.

Day 0 - Arriving In Delhi And Getting Ready

It all started with the Christmas morning. I woke up in excitement, and a bit of panic about not forgetting anything.

The plan was made all of a sudden, and I had booked the train tickets to Dehradun only two days before. I wasn't physically prepared either.

But I had the mindset. And when a strong urge arose from within, I couldn't say no.

I was expecting it to be strenuous. And I prepared my mind to endure long walks, uncomfortable days and countless breathless moments.

Considering my physical condition, I was flexible. I didn't have the strongest of intentions to reach the highest accessible point. I kept the scope for improvisation open pertaining to how my boday would respond. And I ventured out leaving the rest at what is meant to be.

The day started slow, we were ready on time. But the shared cab arrived 1.5 hours late. And we reached Delhi, at our pre booked room nearby railway station by 4:00 pm.

The Challange Before The Start

We offloaded our heavy rucksacks, refreshed. And boarded a metro for Subhash Nagar. I still had to buy some indispensable essentials from Decathlon.

But as soon as we arrived at the pacific mall, there was a horde of human beings at every entry gate and they were closed.

As per the Covid guidelines malls were restricted to operate at 50% capacity. But because of the Christmas eve - people, everywhere.

Reaching another Decathlon store meant an hour of more travel. And there was no guarantee that it would be accessible. Though I am usually lazy with footing into heaps of people breathing at my neck, yes that's how invasive Indian crowds can get, lol.

But It was already 6 and the clock was running against us. Not shopping the necessities to survive cold could mean postponing the plan for another day and missing the train scheduled for next morning. My partner was a teen, so he stood there waiting for me to take a decision while I interacted with the authorities.

Only to get an instruction that mall was closed, and they couldn't help anyone go inside. So at last I have to spend twenty minutes conspiring with the mob present outside to break in.

They were allowing the entry to staff, some high priority people and their vehicles. So the plan was to take the advantage of a bigger opening and enter through both the edges. There was just a single guard holding the gate. You have to sometimes do what you don't preach. I am not proud of it. Lol. And then you could witness a live iteration of 'unity having strength'.

We spent next two hours in scourging the Decathlon and we were out and at our room by 9:30.

I repacked my rucksack, had dinner and went to sleep ready to face the next day.

All well if it ends well. Stay tuned to read my journey ahead.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Shubhwaj
2 years ago

Comments