Which of these can you relate to 

0 13
Avatar for Shine2
Written by
2 years ago

Good day readers. I believe we are doing fine today. It's a beautiful Tuesday and I'm excited today. So today on my way out, I boarded a bus to get to my destination. While enjoying the ride and the view, I observed how everyone was on the move for their normal day-to-day activities. Some were on public transport like me, some on a private while the rest were school children trekking to school. 


I quickly remembered how I used to be on that uniform trekking to school every day. I remembered how we used to play so much after school while on our way home. This led me into remembering the funny things we (my siblings and I) did while growing up. 


1. Played mummy and Dady along with our neighbor's children; 

As we all know, this play is common amongst Nigerians. If you grew up without playing this, you missed childhood fun. The oldest among us used to be the mum and dad. 


2. Fake cooking😂 

This was another common game whereby we cooked with an empty tin of milk or empty tin tomatoes. We fill them with sand, add water, steal our mother's ingredients, pluck leaves, and cut them into our fake pots. We would even light matches and pretended there's imaginary firewood or stove, then place our tin of milk which serves as our pot😂 


3. Hide and seek ;

I was really bad at this particular game because I always get caught. I don't know how to hide and stay at a place😂 I could hide in the wardrobe this minute and the next minute I've changed position to hiding under the dining and then get caught by my brother 😩 


4. War start; 

I wasn't part of this game because it was mostly played by the guys in my compound. They would shoot at each other with their fake guns but the funniest thing was that nobody agreed to die. Sometimes arguments would arise from the game about who's supposed to die but that person keeps playing. That argument can sometimes be the end of the game or the start of the game canceling the previous one. 


5. Rode the back of a chair; 

I and my 2 siblings had plastic chairs. Each had different colors and they were all according to our favorite colors. My favorite color then was purple so I had the purple chair, my brother had the lemon chair, my sister had the orange chair because those were their favorite colors at that time. We used to drive our plastic chairs like they were our cars. We would turn the back of those chairs with the legs facing up and we would push them on the floor. We did this in the absence of our parents. We had no idea if the floor or the chair was been damaged or not, all we were after was the fun we were having while driving our benz😂 


6. Worn a towel to church;

This was a big mistake I made😂😁 You know how you try to dress up with a towel around your waist and then after dressing you pull off the towel but this time around I forgot to remove the towel. This was because I had no idea it was still on my waist. After all, my dress was the type that had layers. If you're a typical Nigerian you'll know the kind of dress I'm talking about it. It's those types we always get on Christmas period with matching handbags, glasses, watches, and bangles😂 so wearing such type of flare gown with about three or four layers/linen, you'll never feel it.

I was meant to feel the cold from the towel at least but I just can't tell how I wasn't able to feel it, maybe because my body was already comfortable with it that I could hardly remember that it was on my waist. I went to church and was dancing during praise in the children's section and I felt something gradually pulling out of my waist, only for me to look down, behold my towel trying to show its face. At that moment I remembered I forgot to pull it out after dressing. I excused myself and took it out. Everyone around me kept staring at me😂 indeed it was embarrassing.😂 


8. Ran inside the house and pretended we'd been reading or sleeping when we hear our parent's voice from the gate;😂 

I and my siblings were experts in pretending. Our parents had rules and each rule was meant to be followed. One of the rules was to stay indoors and read once they go out but most times we broke these rules. We would be reading when they're still at home with us and then we would go out to play one's they leave😂 


9. Pretended to take a nap;

I was the chairlady of this table. Growing up as a child, I hardly slept in the afternoon. Once my aunty sends everyone to go and sleep, I would be the only one still shining her eyes laying on the bed while others are already in dreamland. And when they all start waking up, I'll act like I've been sleeping since😂.


Which of these can you relate to while growing up, you can share yours in the comment section below 


Thank you for reading till then end 

Have a wonderful day.

#loveandlight

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Shine2
Written by
2 years ago

Comments