My old tale

0 15
Avatar for Shine2
Written by
2 years ago

Good day readers 

How's valentines day going over there? I believe you're enjoying it. Today is a special day and to me, it's a day to show love to everyone. It's not just a day meant for couples only but it's a day to extend hands of friendship and love to everyone around us. 

I remembered back then in school what valentine used to be like. Let me first talk about Valentine's day in secondary school. I first became aware of what Valentine is when I was in my senior secondary school. In my SS1 was when I had my first valentines gift from my boyfriend then. 

Yes, I had a boyfriend. That relationship started since my JSS2😂 but I wasn't aware it was that serious until we got into the senior class. The relationship started as a result of a simple play. It was a case of him refusing to give me my bag so I could go home since they already rang the bell. 

I begged him but he held onto it so I took his. While holding, his I still wasn't happy because I needed my bag so I could head for home. He only agreed to give me my bag if I wore him his own and if he wears me mine😂. We did the exchange and the whole class witnessed it and they turned it into a wedding. 

They wrote our names on the board as the newly wedded couples, even on the timetable posted on the wall😂 And just like that, the relationship started. The class tagged us a couple and then it extended to the whole school. We were a couple of the school. 

So my first valentine's gift came from him when we got into the senior class. I received a gift card, a tiny rose, and chocolate. He knows how much I love chocolates. I witnessed the exchange of gifts amongst my classmates back then. There was a certain valentines day when all gifts were seized. That should be in my SS2. Students were searched thoroughly and gifts found with them were seized. I wasn't having any gifts with me so I wasn't bothered at all. 

My next valentine's gift was from my mum, she got me a beautiful dress and I loved it. 

When I got into the University, Valentine's Day celebration was different from what I knew it to be. 

I witnessed students go out or travel with their big boxes. They go to their friend's places to spend their valentines day. The lodge used to be so empty back then. Even the streets that used to be a little bit busy filled with people, the streets become so empty. For businesses especially those gift sellers, this is usually the time they make enough profits selling wines, gift cards, teddy bears, and other beautiful gifts even helping you wrap your gifts. For the bus drivers, they make money too because of those traveling to be with their loved ones.

Today being another valentines day, I'm spending it at home watching movie

Happy Valentine's Day to you all. Please don't forget to show love to anyone around you in the little way you can. I shared my breakfast with my neighbor this morning and that's my own little way of saying happy Val to her when she came over to greet me.😊

Thank you for reading

Sponsors of Shine2
empty
empty
empty

#loveandlight



2
$ 0.26
$ 0.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Princessbusayo
Avatar for Shine2
Written by
2 years ago

Comments