My experience

2 17
Avatar for Shine2
Written by
2 years ago

Good day and Happy Sunday my dear readers. I hope your weekend is going well? Mine is fantastic and restful. This past week has been a busy one for me. I’ve been trying to put up with going to work and still running my business. I’m still trying to create a balance.

So today I want to talk about my experience at the new place I’m working. Meeting these people I work with daily has exposed me to certain things and the job being a media job, there is a lot of things you get to learn from social media or colleagues just in case you miss any gist online.

Firstly, I’m the type that could sleep late at night and wake up late the next day but all that changed when I got this job which I’m still interning for now. I used to set alarm at 7 a.m so I could prepare and leave for work by 8 a.m since I’m meant to be at work by 9 a.m. I would always prepare my things the night before the next day. I would wash my plates, iron my dress, clean my shoes so when I woke up I wouldn’t start doing those things that morning to avoid getting to work late. These days my body system wakes me up even without an alarm. Sometimes I could wake up by 5 a.m or 6 a.m on my own without an alarm unlike before that I do set different alarms. Back then when I was in school, I set alarms at different minutes just to wake up to attend classes. I set first alarm at 6:30 a.m and then another one at 7:00 a.m and yet another one at 7:15 a.m because I’m afraid the first one may not be enough to wake me up😂😂😂. But it has all changed now, these days I even wake up before my alarm, my body system has adapted and adjusted to waking up early. Indeed change is constant.

Secondly, I'm the type that gets shy meeting people for the first time, I tend to be quiet, hardly hold a conversation. It could take me weeks to get acquainted with someone new. But that is changing little by little. The way I have been very free with my colleagues just few days into the job is quite surprising. I've already started to show myself 😂 and make jokes with them, have conversations with them, join them in anything they do. I guess that's because the work environment is free and friendly.

Even our manager is very free with us and friendly. He plays a lot too and makes us laugh. I feel we both have one thing in common which is loving food. Anytime I see him he's always eating something. He has even shared his snacks with me after he asked us if we wanted to eat and I told him yes whereas the rest told him no. I mean who says no to donuts😂🤪. He wasn't at work on Thursday and Friday and work on those days were a little bit boring. So we had to come up with as directed by our content manager Chief Vera.

I had my hands full at that moment so I could not participate but I volunteered to edit the whole show after it's been taped. I taped it on my own because I had to leave what I was doing to join them. I love working behind the scene. I don't want to be part of a presenter or a host of a show because I know I don't have what it takes. Presenting or hosting a show needs someone who can talk and get people to talk too, also someone who can hold a conversation and make it interesting and catchy. So, I feel I don't have what it takes but maybe one day, I will try to have small experience in that field .

So after we were done, I started to edit. After hours of editing something funny happened. I went off from my editing app after I saved it as draft just to clear my space in my phone in order to now save the video I just finished editing. I came back to the app and guess what happened? The edited video couldn't open from the app because the original file has been deleted😂😂 Funny thing was, the video was also deleted from my recently deleted. I had no idea that it would happen that way. I'm the type that's always careful when handling things but how I lost myself and became careless, I can't explain. I busted into laughter as I began to tell my colleagues. They all thought I was joking until I showed them.

We told our content manager who gave us the task. She asked we shoot again. It was almost closing hour as everyone was tired so I begged them to just try so we could shoot again but this time around we would only choose two topics to discuss unlike before when they did four. I came up with the content and the content was to talk about what was trending, references were made via Twitter. After we were done shooting, I took the videos so I would edit them at home. I'm done editing them and it came out nicer than the first one.

I just hope it would impress our content manager when I show it to her on Tuesday. I would also show it to my tutor at the office who's teaching me video editing with Adobe premier pro which I have not started using yet. Probably by next week after I've gotten a new mouse for my system because my system mouse is bad.

I'm always looking forward to going to work every day, that's how well I'm enjoying the place.😊

Thank you for reading till the end

Do have a lovely day

#loveandlight

3
$ 2.10
$ 2.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
Avatar for Shine2
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I bet you, things would change once a person got a new job especially the routine changing. I am glad you had to change all patterns about you because of your Job.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes oo...like they say change is indeed constant..I’m glad too

$ 0.00
2 years ago