My dog has a girlfriend😂

0 13
Avatar for Shine2
Written by
2 years ago

It's a beautiful Wednesday morning and I'm up early today. That's unusual but I have no other choice because I decided to take my life seriously this year. I had to wake up early to write this article because today is going to be a busy day so I need to start my day on time so I can achieve all I’ve set out to achieve.

Another reason I woke up early is that I need to write my response letter to the query letter I was issued last week by my CDS (Community Development Service) coordinator. The good thing is that I wasn’t the only one who got this letter but everyone did because we came late to the meeting which was scheduled to start at 9. a.m.


Formally the time has always been by 10. a.m but the time was recently changed to 9. a.m but every one of us ignored this time change and continued with the usual time. This made our coordinator and his assistant angry so they decided to issue us a query. Being issued a query is not a good thing because it could elongate one’s service year if you’ve been issued up to three times. This is a bye-law in the National Youth Service Corps scheme (NYSC).


This month is special to me. Do you know why? Not only is it a month of love but it’s also a month when I’ll be done with my service to my dear country. It’s been a wonderful experience so far.

So about the title of this article, I have always wondered if animals can speak or hear themselves the way we humans do. Take for instance a dog. Have you ever wondered if those barks and noises they make are words they say that only their fellow dogs can hear and understand? I have 3 dogs at home, Terror, Pat, and Ruby. Terror and Pat are male while Ruby is female. Terror is an active dog, that can be aggressive most times to strangers. Pat on the other hand is a lazy dog. He is big and ugly and I guess that's the only thing about him that scares people. He is always calm and quiet, loves to sleep around, and eats too much.

A picture of Pat and Ruby

Every time Terror loves to bully Pat. He makes this disturbing noise around Pat which makes Pat become calm or goes off to sit somewhere. Each time I serve them their meal for the day, Terror barks at Pat whenever I try to make Pat go into his cage to eat. They both share the same cage but it's demarcated but that doesn't stop them from barking at each other. Going back home after a long time made me notice this. This was new to me and I couldn't get used to it because each time they start their aggressive barking I tend to run off with fear😂. They've fought one time and I wasn't able to do anything. It was my younger sister who was already used to them that came out to separate them pretending to use her slippers on them and they ran off. My dad said they were always fighting because of Ruby.

A picture of Terror and his girlfriend Ruby😂

Ruby is just a little dog. Always runs off whenever we try to touch, pet, or carry her. It's always funny whenever we plan to bathe her. She would make everyone chase her around the compound so she could have her bath. It's always like we're trying to catch a thief😂 which is very funny. She's not up to a year yet. But I've noticed how Terror follows her around. I would lock Ruby sometimes in her cage so she doesn't get disturbed by him and he would be making a disturbing noise like he's crying while constantly roaming around her cage. If I finally release her from her cage, he would be the first to jump on her and then they both play around.

One certain time, I locked Terror in his cage, while Pat and Ruby were not locked. When Terror was finally released that day, he went in search of his love Ruby😂. One time Ruby walked with Pat to the back of our building and he quickly rushed to separate them. He kept barking at Pat. Most times when I notice this I would call his name so he would stop immediately. Many times when everyone else has left the house except me, these two dogs will begin to bark at each other not knowing them I'm around. I wonder most time why they dislike each other. If truly it's because of Ruby then it's more serious than we think.

I've watched both Terror and Ruby closely, they're both fonds of each other and they both love to play. I guess she likes Terror more than Pat because he acts stronger and at least can protect her😂

Most times ruby would even initiate the play. She's fond of licking Terror’s faces anytime they are released from her cage. One thing she doesn't allow him to do is to mate with her and I'm happy about that because she has not fully grown for that so most of the time she's always sitting down after she has had enough play with Terror. Terror would most times want to climb her but she would always run off and sit somewhere. Sometimes she could sit at a place for a very long time. At night, we normally send her into her cage while Terror and Pat will be out safeguarding the compound. We do this so that Terror wouldn't disturb her at night. I wonder if Pat and Terror would eventually get along and I hope they do.

I have to go now before I'll be late again today and receive another query which won't look good.

Thank you for reading

Have a lovely day

3
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @Davinchysax
Avatar for Shine2
Written by
2 years ago

Comments