Mothers

0 17
Avatar for Shine2
Written by
2 years ago

Happy Sunday readers. I trust your Sunday is going well. Mine is going well. The only thing I'm not happy about is the Sunday rice I missed in the church today. I didn't stay till the end of their service. I would have eaten if I was at home because I trust that my mum would prepare a delicious meal for us as today is a day mothers are being celebrated in Anglican Communion.

 

Today's mothering Sunday was one I almost forgot. I was too lazy to stand up from my bed to prepare. My night was so short because I slept very late. I couldn't sleep on time because I was having catarrh so I was so restless. In church today, mother’s day was an emotional one. They had a lot of presentations to display. Mothers presented a drama that had a message and the children's department also came, sang a song, and said prayers for our mothers in the church. This one was emotional because the little girl who came out to lead the prayer began to cry as she was asking the congregation to pray for mothers. I was touched. She made the prayer from her heart. It was as though she understands the stress and sacrifices mothers passed through.

 

The drama was about a woman who bore 3 children. A boy and two girls. They grew up to be rich and were not in the country until their mother died, then they returned. They began to cry. The first daughter announced that she would donate a sum of ten million naira. The second said she would donate a sum of twenty million naira. The first son, after boasting of his position and what his friends abroad call him, said he would renovate the building in which their mother lived and do a befitting burial for her. 

 

The sister to their late mum sat at one end watching and listening to them. She approached them immediately, insulting them. She reminded them of all the suffering their mother went through in other to train them in school yet now they were all doing fine, they couldn't send common #1500 for her to buy some malaria drugs for her to be treated. All the good they would have done for her while she was alive, they didn't do it. It's now they're talking about doing a befitting burial. 

 

In summary of that short drama, the message I was able to get from it is that we should learn to take care of our mothers even fathers now they're still alive. Because one day, they may not be with us again. No matter how little you give to them, mothers are always thankful. Even if you don't have enough, still give them from that little you have because if you keep waiting for when you will have plenty of money to shower her with love, you don't know what could happen tomorrow. Little things matter. 

 

One thing I learned as well from the children was how they defined mothers They explained alphabetically:

M in mother means manager. A mother is a manager. She manages her home properly

O in mother means organizer. A mother is an organizer, she organizes her family and makes sure everything is in other

T in mother stands for a teacher. A mother is a teacher. Mothers teach and guide their children so they don't go astray.

H in mother stands for honorable.

E in mother stands for encourager. Mothers are encouragers. Even in difficult situations they keep calm and encourage us.

R in mothers stands for resilient. They are strong. They keep pushing.

After that short drama, I remembered that I had not talked with my grandmothers from both my paternal and maternal sides in a while. So I said I was going to call everyone that has played a mother role in my life to appreciate and celebrate them. I've been able to reach my maternal grandmother and she was so happy. I'll call my paternal grandmother later because she didn't respond to my call. Some aunties I tried to reach out to as well didn't respond so I guess they're still in church. Of course I would call my amazing mum once she gets back from church.

The strong woman who passed through all the stress and pain to bear I and my siblings, yet never gave up on us but loved us unconditionally... I love you.❤️

In case you've not called your mum today please do so and remind her of how amazing she is

 

Thank you for reading

#loveandlight

 



2
$ 1.17
$ 1.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Shine2
Written by
2 years ago

Comments