Little Push 

1 18
Avatar for Shine2
Written by
2 years ago

Although we were all created differently, I still find it amazing how we all shared this common thing, which is the ability to survive. The fight for survival goes beyond we humans. Animals as well, fight and struggle to stay alive in their various territories. Only the strongest can conquer their predators and overcome any other factor that may stand in their way of surviving be it climate change or food scarcity. For humans, the struggle for survival is different. We engage in various activities that would fetch us income which we would use to survive and overcome our challenges. Sometimes we could do three to four jobs to have multiple streams of income daily. Where I come from, this has become a norm. 

However, for one to take upon a job to generate an income no matter how little, he or she must have thought through it, then taking it up shows us that they decided to go ahead with it. We all have our different hustles, some we may be proud of, others, we may not but I believe no one should ever talk down or look down on someone else’s hustle. 

A little conversation I heard between my neighbor and a certain boy named Felix who sells water in gallons since the well in our flat was still dried up, made me realize how some people can be inhuman. Earlier on, while I was talking to him to get water for me, she came out from her room and said “hey you boy, can you fetch water for me?” The boy looked at her for some seconds without saying anything and looked away. Who would want to say anything after being addressed that way? I could tell from his expression how sad and embarrassed he felt but I had to pretend just like he did like it never happened. After I was done talking to him and paying him for his services, he left and didn’t bother checking on my neighbor who just talked to him in that manner to confirm how many gallons of water she might be needing. A few moments later, I wanted to get pepper for this delicious rice I was cooking for dinner. I’m a fan of a peppery meal, I don’t usually like food without pepper. Food without pepper tastes like nothing to me🤮. 

As I walked past her door, she was outside with the guy again scolding him. In her words, “if you know you want to be doing big boy then stop fetching water and selling. I don't like vexing oo, don't make me angry” while she was saying that, she was taking the water which he just turned into her bucket from his gallon into the room. I crossed him and looked at his face to know his reaction, he only nodded his head and didn't utter a word. I felt so bitter. I mean why should he be talked to in that manner. I wanted to get myself involved and speak for him but I just had to mind my business because I've had my share of her bad level of communication. Looking at Felix, I can tell he is no longer a kid. He must have finished school, both secondary and college, or maybe never had the finance to finish his education. He had other choices or means of making ends meet but he choose to go on this path. Of course, he could have other things he does to fetch him some cash that could take care of his needs.

 

Where I come from, young boys do a lot of crazy and illegal things just to make money. No one can ever tell if Felix must have thought of these as options just waiting to make up his mind with that little push. How she talked to him is enough to make him go into his secret place and think of his life asking God too many questions which might push him to carry out those wrong intentions he must have had in his mind for a long time. We all don't know what we all pass through daily, differently, even though we come out with our best dresses with a smile on our faces, no one has an idea of what we feel inside. 

Most of the young men carrying guns on the street, making money illegally must have had just a little push. I once had a friend in my first year in university days. We lived in the same student lodge but he wasn't a student at that point. We used to discuss a lot of things. He always talked about joining a secret cult and I thought he was just ranting. 

The way he talked and the things he says, it showed that he was tired of the fact that he was always been intimidated. Yes, he had a small stature as you know what happens to us with small stature. I said us because I also do have a small stature and the level of intimidation we get is something else. Sometimes people don't rate us at all😂 

Time went on, he finally got admission but in a different school not so far from mine, so he moved to a new lodge. After his first year, he came around to see his cousin who was still in the same lodge as me, he looked different and acted differently. Finally, he revealed to me that he joined a secret cult on his campus. Immediately, I knew what gave him that push because, from our previous discussion, he was already considering it. Before he left for his school, he had gotten into an argument with some group of friends over money on a business deal which ended up crashing. I was there, I saw how he struggled to get his money back but he wasn't able to win his money back. I saw the disappointment written all over him as he stood separately from the rest of them, glancing at every one of them. I guess that was the moment he couldn't take it anymore. Because of this incident, he must have had that little push and made up his mind. Of course, this may not be the only incident, more must have happened. 

Sometimes it's how we treat people or how we talk to them that leaves them no choice but to carry on with that bad choice or decisions they harbored in their hearts. I'm not saying they're right in acting on those decisions rather I'm encouraging that we all learn to talk to people irrespective of their hustle, size, origin, religion, tribe, etc so we don't force them into doing the wrong things because there's a thin line between right and wrong and once anyone crosses it, it may be difficult to return. 


Have a lovely weekend 

#loveandlight.

2
$ 1.06
$ 1.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Davinchysax
Avatar for Shine2
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

You made a whole lot of sense in this post. Most times people get into the wrong side of life just because of one silly attitude or negative action metted out on them by others. I just wish we all can do our best in thinking and putting others first in all we do. A person's hustle does not and should not be used as a means to reduce him to nothing less than a human.

$ 0.00
2 years ago