Certain things happen for certain reasons: do you believe?

0 14
Avatar for Shine2
Written by
2 years ago

Just like every other day, I woke up with a lot of plans. I needed to pick a waybill from a park, do makeup for a transition video on TikTok I had prepared, as well as pack my loads for my travel to visit my family. I planned to visit my family before coming back to where I stay to continue my search for a good job. 

The mistake I made was to put the waybill plan first which made me stay home the whole day doing nothing but waiting to be called by the driver for the waybill. Each time I wanted to proceed or carry on with other plans, I end up deciding not to, to avoid a situation whereby I’ll be on my makeup transition challenge and then I get his call. I couldn’t pack my bags yet because I needed to also take some makeup stuff with me and I couldn’t do that since I’ve not yet used the products I wanted to use for my TikTok video. And just like that, the whole day went without me doing anything. I became angry but I just had to endure at least I learned from my mistake. 

Finally, I got a call from the driver and I quickly rushed to get my package. The road was so busy that night. There was a lot of traffic because everyone was just returning from work. The park I was going to was located after the main market and at that place, there was a lot of traffic. The driver didn’t even get to the destination he said he would get to because of the much traffic and he decided to turn back thereby discharging everybody. I quickly paid him and rushed out of his bus. It was getting late so I needed to walk fast to the park to pick my waybill. 

The road was filled with traders and transporters. Some traders were already packing up while some were still doing business. Everybody was on their feet except for those in private vehicles. I kept my serious face as I walked past a lot of people who were walking as though the road belonged to them and they had nothing else to do rather than spend time on the road. As I walked past a girl who was standing by one side, she kept staring and our eyes met but I ignored her and kept my pace. The next minute, she called out my name. I stopped and walked slowly towards her while she came closer. She called my surname and yet I still couldn’t recognize who she was. 

She had this excitement all over her as she began to explain herself. It turned out that we used to live in the same compound back then. We were neighbors and she was part of my childhood but funny how I couldn’t recognize her. I hugged her quickly as I remembered her family. We stood there talking for over 20 minutes. I remembered that her family left that compound before us and that was the last we heard of them. They left without notice. I just came back from school and then I heard they moved out. According to her, she had searched facebook looking for me but couldn’t find me. Maybe she spelled my surname wrongly. For her to recognize me means that she still had my face fresh on her memory. 

Also according to her, she was standing on the other lane waiting for the bus and then decided to cross to the lane where we met. Now imagine if she didn’t cross over and imagine if I had gone to collect my waybill earlier than that, we wouldn’t have crossed paths neither would she have known that I’m in the same town with her. Truly there’s a reason why certain things happen the way they do. She has never crossed to this other lane to take a bus home from work. Today was her first time due to the traffic. I felt the excitement in her voice. It was like one of her dreams and wishes had just come true. 

We exchanged contact. It’s a good thing I saw her. I’ve always thought of her most times. I’ve even thought about my childhood friends and I feel bad that I’m no longer in touch with any neither can I even remember them. So I’m happy to finally get in touch with one, the only problem is that she already planned to relocate to another town to get a better job and opportunity. We have a lot to catch up on.  I believe that certain things happen for certain reasons. Do you?

I still achieved every plan I wanted to achieve even though I was done by midnight. 

 

Thank you for reading 

God bless you

#loveandlight



1
$ 0.15
$ 0.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Shine2
Written by
2 years ago

Comments