Where Is My Money? A CoinGecko Screenshot Explained

0 11
Avatar for Sheriff
2 years ago

Please take a look at my portfolio and feel free to criticize or advise! 



I will not disclose dollar amounts because I am embarrassingly poor, but rather % of portfolio along with reasons why.

Warning - If you're a maximalist you may be offended!
 
BTC ~ 60%
For now, Bitcoin is still top dog by market capitalization and first mover, meaning all other cryptos tend to mimic BTC's price fluctuations. While I'm not a maximalist this is the majority of my crypto investment position and everything else is just a way to not "put all your eggs in one basket".
While Bitcoin maximalists believe that Bitcoin, is the only digital asset that will be needed in the future I believe if someone puts all their eggs in one basket, they put all their effort or resources into doing one thing so that, if it fails, they have no alternatives left.
 
ETH ~ 8% 
I don't think a "Flippening" will happen any time soon but Ethereum is a solid #2 to BTC by market capitalization. In truth I would allocate a greater percentage here if not for the fact that several of my other crypto investments are tokens based on the ETH blockchain.
The Flippening is defined as the transition of other cryptocurrencies (such as Ethereum) growing bigger, more important, and more valuable than Bitcoin. Because the first major cryptocurrency was bitcoin, the prices and technology of most other cryptocurrencies have been compared and aligned to bitcoin.

LTC ~ 5%
Litecoin is a bit of an underdog as its price tag and market capitalization are significantly below the other two cryptos posted above. I have noticed however that LTC transactions are very speedy and have relatively low transaction fees. 

CEL, DFI, and CRO ~ 10% 
These are the native tokens of the three exchanges I primarily use to buy sell and trade cryptocurrency. Celsius.Network, CakeDefi, and Crypto.com. 
I consider these to carry increased risk because they are tied to specific projects and therefore more niche. The exchanges do tend to incentivize users to hold their native token however and I figure if I'm going to invest in these projects I may as well support them too.  
 
UNI ~ 5% 
When buying the tokens for the above exchanges I learned about Uniswap. Uniswap is a decentralized finance protocol that is used to exchange cryptocurrencies. While there are alternatives that I won't bash on like Sushiswap, I chose UNI because it is what I personally used to get my CEL tokens and I find it very user friendly. 
 
ADA and MATIC ~ 3% 
Cardano and Polygon
I was reluctant to invest in smaller cryptocurrencies by market cap hence the low percentage. However my research into crypto has shown me the huge community support these projects enjoy. 
 
USDC ~ 10%
A stablecoin is a new class of cryptocurrencies that attempts to offer price stability and are backed by a reserve asset. 1 USDC will always equal 1 US Dollar. Stablecoins are boring honestly because they never experience price movement. Although there is less growth due to the stable price I like to maintain a position in USDC because it provides a quick and easy on ramp to buy the dip if I see an opportunity in other cryptos. Rather than depositing more fiat into my exchange I can pull the trigger ASAP with my USDC. 
  
Thank you for reading and let me know if you have any questions!

If you would like to try any of these projects please use my referral link and we will both reap the rewards!

https://celsiusnetwork.app.link/116934d455
Join Celsius Network using my referral code 116934d455 when signing up and earn $40 in BTC with your first transfer of $400 or more! #UnbankYourself

https://app.cakedefi.com/?ref=734489
Get $20 worth of DFI when you sign up and make a deposit of $50 or more. If you use a referral code, both you and your referrer get an extra $10!

https://crypto.com/app/qh4zdhmwfe
The referral bonus here is $25 for both sender and newcomer.

0
$ 0.00
Avatar for Sheriff
2 years ago

Comments