The story of a woman and her shoes...

3 8
Avatar for Shathi
Written by
3 years ago

The woman silently got on the train; If his eyes hadn't fallen, I wouldn't have realized that his eyes were twinkling. At any moment those tears seem to fall. I looked at his feet, saw bare feet, a pair of shoes in his hands. A small child wrapped in a blanket on his lap; The baby is not making any noise. The woman approached the passengers and said something in a low voice, but her words covered the peddler's voice. The woman approached me on one side of the train. He looked shyly at his old used pair of worn-out shoes and said softly, ‘Does anyone need it? Would anyone buy shoes from me? ’Not everyone was embarrassed, no one understood why or someone would buy used, old, worn out shoes. Another woman took some money out of the bag and wanted to donate it. But the woman refused to accept anything like that; She returned it even after giving it to her sleeping baby. He then went to the door of the train and stood like a loser.

The woman kept her face down so that other passengers could not see the tears rolling down her face. Then a woman approached him and said softly, ‘I will buy a pair of shoes from you.’ Then the woman with the shoes in her hand asked hopefully, ‘Buy, right? Will you buy it? No more donations, but I don’t want to beg. ’The other woman then smiled and shook her head, then slipped a large note in her hand and left with a pair of shoes in her hand.

As soon as I saw what had just happened, a verse from the Qur'an came to my mind

“Spend for the poor who are unable to walk on the earth because they are blocked in the way of God; The ignorant people think that they are in a state of restraint because of refraining (from begging). You can recognize them by their signs. They do not beg from people, and whatever you spend out of pure wealth, Allah is fully aware of it. ” [Surat al-Baqara: 283]

I don't know what happened to this woman, why she needed the money, or what she would do with the money; All I know is the pain in his eyes, the heavy burden on his shoulders. I have read this verse many times before, heard many discussions about this verse, but never understood the weight of this verse; Today I realized when I saw the verse in front of my eyes like this.

Again, various things kept revolving in my head, this time about Hadith. Anas (may Allah be pleased with him) narrated that a man came and asked the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him), "Should I tie my camel and then put my trust in Allah, or should I leave my camel open and put my trust in Allah?" The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) replied, ‘Tie him up, and put your trust in Allaah at the same time.’ [Tirmidhi]

It would have been easier for the woman to give up if she thought she had nothing to sell, so there was no way she could get some money. Nevertheless, he implemented this hadith. He collected whatever was insignificant to him, which was actually priceless to the passengers of the train. He put his full trust in God, and got a price he could never get by bargaining. For example, Allah Subhana Wata'ala said:

“Whoever fears God, God will make his path easy. And Rizik will give him from his unimaginable source; God is sufficient for him who puts his trust in God, God will fulfill his will, God has set a standard for everything. ” [Surah Talaq: 2-3]

An unfamiliar woman, busy solving her own personal problems on the train, taught me in a few moments how profound it was. There was very little in that woman's hand, but I can say that her heart was full. From him we can understand that the power to give everything belongs to Allah alone - He gives according to His will, not according to our expectations. Although we think that under no circumstances can we do anything, we should reconsider. Because Allah can multiply our small capital at an unexpected rate. And finally we will think of the needy people whom Allah has spoken of, of the indescribable beauty of their hearts as this woman has shown.

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for Shathi
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Good post, carry on.

$ 0.00
3 years ago