A speech by Omar (R)...

2 9
Avatar for Shanoor
3 years ago

Omar Farooq, the second caliph of Islam, delivered a historic speech at the Nawabi Mosque after completing the last Hajj of his life. The following hadith about this.-

Ibn 'Abbas (may Allah be pleased with him) narrated that he said: I used to teach some of the Muhajireen. Abdur Rahman Ibn Awf was one of them. Once I was at his minaret house. He was then on Hajj with 'Umar ibn al-Khattab. At that time Abdur Rahman (R) came back to me and said, if you saw the man who came to Amirul Muminin today and said, O Amirul Muminin! Do you have anything to do with such a person? The man who says that if Omar dies, then I must swear allegiance to him. By God! Abu Bakr's pledge was accidental. As a result, it becomes. He was furious. Then he said, "Insha'Allah, I will stand among the people in the evening and warn them against those who want to embezzle their affairs."

Abdur Rahman (R) said, then I said, O Amirul Muminin! You don't do that. Because the Hajj season brings together the lowly and the foolish. And these are the ones who will dominate the opportunity of your closeness, when you stand among the people. My fear is that when you stand up and say something, it will spread everywhere quickly. And they will not be able to understand it properly. And can't keep it right. So wait until you reach Medina. And that is the center of Hijrah and Sunnah. As a result, he will meet the wise and the noble. And you can say firmly what to say. Wise people will understand and use your words correctly. Then Omar (R) said, know! By God! Inshallah, I will be the first to speak on this subject after my arrival in Medina.

Ibn 'Abbas said, "We returned to Medina at the end of the month of Jilhaj." When Friday came, I went to the mosque as the sun was about to set. When I reached there, I saw Saeed bin Zayd bin Amr bin Nufail sitting at the foot of the pulpit. I also sat beside him as if my knees were touching his knees. Soon 'Umar ibn al-Khattab came out. When I saw him coming forward, I said to Saeed ibn Zayd ibn Amr ibn Nufayl, "This evening he must say something that he has not said since he became caliph." But he blew my word and said, I don't think he will say anything that he has not said before. Then Omar (R) sat on the pulpit. When Muazzin was relieved from the call to prayer, he stood up. And praised God accordingly. Then he said, ‘Ammabad’. Today I want to tell you what I have to say. Maybe the word is happening near my death. So the person who understands and preserves the words properly should deliver the words to the place where his ride will reach. And I don't think it's right for someone who is afraid to understand the words to lie to me. Surely Allah has sent Muhammad (sm) with truth. And the Book has been revealed to him, and one of the revelations of Allah was the verse of fasting. We have read, understood, mastered that verse.

Allah's Messenger (sm) stoned him to death. We also stoned him to death. I'm afraid that after a long time, someone will say, "By God!" We do not find in the Book of Allah the verses of stoning to death. As a result, they will go astray because of an obligation which Allah has sent down. According to the Book of Allah, stoning is obligatory on a person who commits adultery after marriage, whether he is a man or a woman. When clear evidence can be found or a fetus or confession can be found. We also read in the Book of Allah that you should not turn away from your fathers. It is disbelief for you to turn away from your fathers. Know! The Prophet (sm) said, "Do not praise me beyond the limits, just as Isa ibn Maryam has been praised beyond the limits." Say: The servant of Allah and His messenger. Then it came to me that one of you was saying, "By God!" If Omar dies, I will swear allegiance to him. Let no one be deceived into saying that Abu Bakr's pledge was an accident. As a result, it happened. Know! That was certainly the case. However, Allah has prevented the loss of a sudden pledge. Who among the people is like Abubakar to the point where the necks of the riders are broken by traveling? Anyone who swears allegiance without the advice of Muslims cannot be followed, nor can anyone who follows him. Because both of them are in danger of being killed. When Allah killed His Prophet (sm), Abu Bakr (R) was the best person among us. However, the Ansars have opposed us. They all met at Bani Saeed's premises. Ali, Zubair and their associates have also turned away from us. The emigrants, on the other hand, gathered around Abu Bakr. Then I said to Abubakar, O Abubakar! Take us to our Anshar brothers. We set out for them. As we approached them, we met two of their virtuous men. They both discussed what people agreed on. Then they said, O group of emigrants! Where are you going? Then we said, we have left for our Ansar brothers. They said, "No, you should not go to them." You finish your subject. Then I said, by God! We must go to them. We went. Finally I came to them in the premises of Bani Saeed. We saw a man dressed in the middle of them. I asked, who is that man? They replied, "This is Sa'd ibn 'Ubadah." I asked, what happened to him? They said he had a fever. After we sat for a while, their Khatib stood up and recited Kalima Shahadat and gave due praise to Allah. Then he said, Ammabad. We are the helpers of Allah (the religion) and the army of Islam and you, O Muhajireen! Just a small group, a group that has come to us apart from your tribe. But now they want to remove us from the roots and deprive us of the caliphate. When he was silent I wanted to say something. And I had arranged some things in advance, which seemed good to me. I wished to present the matter before Abu Bakr (R). I wanted to cool the anger caused by his speech. When I tried to speak, Abu Bakr said, "Stop." I didn't like making him angry. So Abu Bakr spoke, and he was more tolerant and serious than me. By God! He did not omit anything I had arranged. But he immediately said something better than that. Finally he stopped talking.

Then he said, "You deserve the good deeds that you have said about yourself." However, the issue of caliphate is specific only to this Quraish dynasty. They are the best Arabs in terms of lineage and habitat. And I have chosen for you one of these two. Take the oath of allegiance in the hands of any one of you. Then he took the hand of me and Abu Obaidah ibn Jarrah (R). He was sitting in the middle of us. I did not dislike anything he said except this. By God! It is better for me to be appointed ruler over the nation in which Abu Bakr is present, that my neck will be broken by presenting me, so that it will no longer lead me to any sin. O Allah! Maybe my soul can crave something at the time of my death that I don’t get now. Then one of the Anshars said, I am an experienced and hereditary nobleman of this nation. O Quraish! We have to be an amir and you have to be an amir. At this time a lot of talking and shouting started. I was apprehensive because of this disagreement. So I said, O Abu Bakr! You raise your hand. He extended his hand. I swore allegiance to him. The emigrants also swore allegiance to him. Then the Ansar also swore allegiance to him. And we proceeded to Sa'd Ibn 'Ubadah (R). Then one of them said, "You have killed Sa'd ibn 'Ubada knowingly." Then I said, "Allah has killed Sa'd ibn 'Ubada." Omar (R) said, by Allah! We did not think of anything more important than the pledge of allegiance of Abu Bakr. We feared that if the pledge of allegiance was incomplete, and we separated from this nation, they might take the pledge of allegiance in their hands after us. Then we may have to follow them against our will, or oppose them. As a result, it would have caused a catastrophe. Therefore, a person who swears allegiance without the advice of Muslims cannot be followed. Nor of the man who will follow him. Because both are in danger of being killed (Bukhari H / 630 ‘Penal Code’ chapter).

This hadith describes the condition of Abu Bakr before taking the pledge of allegiance. And by taking this pledge, the quarrel between the Ansar and the Muhajireen came to an end. We have to learn from the example of accepting each other given in this hadith. May Allah grant us Tawfiq- Amen!

4
$ 0.00
Avatar for Shanoor
3 years ago

Comments